You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Auschwitz and the Banality of Evil

in #steemfest6 years ago

I had the same feeling at start not to go because I've been to some other camps. Well, visited Dachau for about 5 times and it is ravishing me every time I'm there. For my surprise Auschwitz was different than Dachau. Auschwitz is pure sadness and sickness of the ways humans can act on each other.
Like said on the spot this sick efficiency is disturbing.
Coming to the main problem, of challenge the issue, I don't know what would have I've done there if I had to work for the exterminators side. I told someone there that the choice to stand up against this monstrosity and to shut up and play it safe for the loved ones would be a tough one and mostly will choose the second. Fear is a very big motivator.

Coming now to the main idea as far as I have perceived it. We need to challenge from the start the so called solely truth as it is the only chance not to let it develope into massive fear as fear when it is strong will triumph reason in most of the cases.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I agree - challenging people's 'truth claims' is crucial, yet without falling into a postmodernist free for all!

I would defo do more 'genocide tours' if I was in the area where they took place.

I think it's important to immerse yourself in these things.

Then again maybe I'm just morbid!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is not morbid, I would call it self awareness. History took it's tool and it is our duty to remind and be reminded by it.

Posted using Partiko Android

That'd maybe a better way of putting it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80