Exploring Lisbon (SteemFest Day 3 & 4)

in #steemfest7 years ago

The SteemFest conference ended on Friday night with the "Night of Steem", but there were still some activities over the week-end, as well as the possibility to explore Lisbon.

On Saturday I took part in a Free Tour by a local guide. These tours are usually quite good. You don't pay upfront but tip the guide if you are happy with the service.

Our guide showed us around the neighbourhoods of Mouraria and Alfama, told funny little stories and recommended good places to visit later.

When the tour was finished I strolled around this beautiful city a bit more. These are the old fashioned cable cars which are still in service in Lisbon.

At night I went with some new friends I met at SteemFest to a really cool club in an abandoned building. There war artworks, video installations and good DJs. Today's Lisbon feels a bit like Berlin in the early 90s with its "everything is possible" feeling. I met many people from abroad who have moved or will move here. It's definitely an attractive place to live!

Christin Topp from Appics at Beato Club 

After having danced until 3 AM, we were a bit hungry, so we went to a hidden late-night restaurant which you have to know. We had delicious food and great talks until dawn.

An elevator which connects Lisbon's Bairro Alto and the city centre

On Sunday I explored the city a bit more. I walked from my AirBnB near Praça Marqués de Pombal down Avenida Liberdade until the Chiado area.

The famous Café A Brasileira

Then I went to SteemFest's art exhibition at LX Factory. That's an area of former warehouses near the port of Lisbon which have been transformed in a hip area of street markets, art galleries, bars and restaurants.

In one hall was an exhibition of artworks created by Steeminans. We also had a little jam session there with some musicians. As soon as I have the video of it, I will write more about it, as it was really fun.

In front of the exhibiton hall was a booth for Dutch pancakes which was run by @RoelandP and his brother.

Roxane from Brussels enjoys some proper Dutch pancakes

I got hungry and wanted to have lunch in the restaurant Rio Maravilha, which is located in the top floor of the old warehouse which also hosted the Steem Art exhibiton. There was no place in the restaurant, but I was happy I went up, as the view from the roof terrace is breathtaking. You see it in the first picture of this post.

This is the big statue of Rio Maravilha seen from the front. It seems to be the female answer to Cristo Redentor on the other side of the River. In the background you see the Ponte 25 de Abril, a copy of San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge.

Standing ovations for @RoelandP, SteemFest's organiser

SteemFest ended with a closing dinner in the greenhouse Estufa Fria. After two days of exploring the city alone or in small groups, it was great to be together with (nearly) everyone from the conference.

The dinner turned into a dance party. Some guys even showed some cool breakdance moves. SteemFest was a great experience to me. I met many cool people, had a lot of fun and totally fell in love with Lisbon, probably one of the most beautiful and interesting cities of Europe.

Sort:  

thanks for sharing your interesting experience on steemfest2 at Lisbon.. beautiful photography with informative writing.. enjoyed a lot!

this is a great post ...

plz help & upvote & follow me bro.............................

this is a great post ...

plz help & upvote & follow me bro.............................

wonderful photo, its amazing

It was awesome meeting you! Great pictures of Lisbon, I fell in love with that city over the course of the trip.

Nice photos

I th8nk I saw this post previously. Thanks once again to recall all of this .
small follower @ amitraj

nice moments

wow.. nice photos!

Love the photos! We're in Lisbon right now and live in Mouraria ... great neighborhood!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59