You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The differences between us

I was lucky enough to earn quite a lot of money as a young woman. You'll laugh - at the end of the month it was just as tight in the till as it is today... I find it difficult to think in terms of rich and poor. Because I somehow value things differently. I know homeless people who I experience as rich - they are much freer and more self-confident than I am, more consistent. And I know wealthy people who I consider poor because they lack friends, fulfilment and satisfaction. A difficult case...

Sort:  

If it is also about how each person feels, I once met a young and beautiful Bulgarian girl who worked in the toilet of a gas station on a highway in Germany, a job secured by a Bulgarian mobster. This girl was really happy with the job she has because she had a job unlike her situation in her home country and her hometown.
I was also happy when I was working a low-skilled job, or rather a job that does not require the higher education I have, in Germany, because until then in Bulgaria, despite good job positions, I was barely paying my bills. And that's not because I'm like that, I'm very frugal and careful with my spending, precisely because of my aggravating past. But because Bulgaria simply did not provide an opportunity to live with dignity, not providing adequate pay.
You talk about some idealistic and moral criteria, but when the basic needs are not satisfied, one always chooses to satisfy them in the first place, and not some idealistic-spiritual needs. People in Bulgaria are therefore first of all bad, because poor people are bad, with unsatisfied primary needs. I know, there is a lot of room for rebuttal here, because of examples from other poor countries. But the truth is, you can't tell how a homeless person feels until you stand in their shoes. Like me, I can't say what it's like to be rich or at least materially comfortable, because I've never been in that situation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43