Stuck in Spain. The U.S. Government is a Banana Empire

in #steemexclusive2 years ago

20220518_121346.jpg

Rose Saying Hi to Steemians From Montjuic, Barcelona

First off, I am typing this rant with big fingers onto tiny rectangles on a small phone. Enormously frustrating! My post will be brief but to the point. My wife and I have COVID. We feel strong, however, my government is weak and ineffectual. It has refused our entry back into the United States. Our first out of country flight after 29 years of togetherness. We cannot return for 11 days without a "document of recovery" by a Spanish doctor. No help, no direction, from U.S. Consulate. Thousands of dollars to buy new flights and find housing and food for 11 days. This will most certainly enrich airlines and banks (credit card companies). At home we need only isolate for 5 days (the capitalists need their obedient workers) after a positive COVID test. No other country in Europe is laying this mind torture on it sick citizens. And several health clinics we have called (using Google Translate poorly), have not even heard of this policy. (Nor do I expect them to have heard). So the U.S. restricts our return and expects Rose and I to contaminate Spanish citizens while being drained of both our savings and enthusiasm.

Today I declare myself an anarchist. I have no country. And no country has me.

Meanwhile, here are two paintings made on the bathroom floor of our hotel room in Barcelona (as difficult a procedure as one finger typing on this phone).

20220519_164250.jpg

I Think Europeans Aren't Afraid to Trust Their Bodies 2022. Acrylic on wood panek, 11 x 14"

20220518_212133.jpg

Rose Went to Tarragona 2022. Acrylic on wood panel, 11 x 14"

Sort:  

Hi Ron, I am sorry to hear that your first trip out of country after lock down and you got COVID. Hopefully you and your wife are feeling well which is the most important thing. The government are crazy they have their rules and do not think out of their comfort zone. But I wish you a lot of patience and good return. The paintings are wonderful as always :)

This has been our first ever airplane trip together out of the country. 29 years! We were told to leave the airport, and that was that. What a scramble to find remotely affordable lodging, transportation to it, and a doctor who knew how crazy the situation is. When I am back and typing on keyboard again, I will provide more detail.
The patience is all we have, and a long walk to the sea this morning. Thank you for the support and well wishes😀
Rose with poppies and wheat. Beautiful country!

IMG_20220522_163917_642.jpg

Firstly, get well soon. The problem you are having is very annoying. It is very sad that you have no alternative :/ The main task of consulates is to protect the rights of citizens. I hope your problem will be resolved as soon as possible and you can go back without further financial and moral loss.
By the way, Rose looks nice :) Greetings.

Thank you very much. We have finally received help today, though from a Spanish health care provider, not the U.S.

I forgot to reply to you. I'm happy to know your problem is solved. I hope you have many trouble-free travels with Rose :)

Forgetfulness is good.
Thank you. We plan to stay put and let the dreams take us on holiday—at least for a while:)

Thank you for supportive words! All will turn out fine. The silver lining is very clear now. It's an adventure that we will look back on and laugh about. We are together, and that's the important thing. Always merry and bright!

Rose and our youngest daughter at The Miró Museum:

20220514_231848.jpg

We are together, and that's the important thing.

This is very important indeed, the power and peace of being together reduce the severity of many problems. My warm regards to your beautiful daughter and Rose :) I hope they always smile like this (:

So true. Alone, I would have lost my mind (in the bad way, not the good one).
Warm regards shared!
:)

Hello. You just declared Anarchist today. I did it 23 years ago, when Latvia came to its independence. I was born on the territory of Latvia and lived in this state for 54 years, but I was never given Latvian citizenship. I am not a citizen of any country. I'm nobody. I do not have the right to vote in elections and so on. The paintings are beautiful. I like. I wish you a speedy recovery.

You are a person without a country, but not by choice. I am sorry to hear that. I believe the best any of us can amount to is becoming a true man /woman without label. These nation states are not us, nor we them.
Thank you for sharing and the kind words.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

I´m so sorry to hear this! That is so wildly crazy. Is there no insurance for these covid laws? I hope you guys are not feeling sick and that you might be able to find a good side to this turn of event! Best wishes!

We are feeling much better, and our isolation time is almost up. We are in a village by the sea and plan to walk to the water today. Market foods here are half the price they are in the United Banana States. I've been able to cook some good enough meals. Here us Rose on a 13th century bridge.
Wow, your country is old!
20220523_203737.jpg

this is the old world!... I remember that the first time I went to the US i felt this weirdness in that there was nothing really old... its strange for an european. I then got used to the way the US is and not I don´t notice it so much. Have you been able to return yet?

Still waiting... we're scheduled to leave on Friday. Fingers crossed:)

20220531_093446.jpg

La Muga a la Mediterranean

good luck with that... may be you are just meant to live in Spain and your trying to swim against all odds! hahahah!

I would hide here for the rest of days, but only with command of language. Painful to be mute:)

I wish you both a quick recovery and return home as soon as possible, happy moments 👍

Thank you very much. We gope so too.🙃

Not good from Government

Incredible incompetence. And I don't think it likes its citizens very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97