You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's talk about voting bots

View counters

There was once a view counter.
I left a comment to o1eh about it here.

About that "quality thing" for users who have a hard time finding good content, who are regularly disappointed because they think articles with high payouts must be good, I commented here in this article, which you mentioned later in your post.

This is especially relevant for visitors who come from outside of Steemit and know nothing about this system.

Sorry for link dropping, but I'm not a fan of c&p of already existing content. :)

Sort:  

Yep. I remember the view counters. My suspicion was always that they took it away because so many posts had high payout values and low view counts. You could be right that it also had to do with the disconnect between views and numbers of votes.

The major drawback for view counters is that they can only measure the views through a particular front-end, so Steemit's view counter wouldn't reflect views through any other interfaces front ends (and vice versa). But in the context of a voting bot, I think it makes sense to incorporate into reward distribution, since the goal would be driving traffic to their own front-end.

it also had to do with the disconnect between views and numbers of votes.

I am pretty sure that this is the main point.

Another problem is that such a counter has to be very sophisticated. I don't know how to program such a counter, but I know very well how to manipulate it. :D

By the way. Off topic. If you are still active on Linkedin. Your website links from Steempeak lead to nowhere ;)

If you are still active on Linkedin. Your website links from Steempeak lead to nowhere ;)

Thanks! I'm not really active there, but I'll try to make some time to go clean that up. I hadn't even realized they were out there. Sad how different things could've been...

but I'll try to make some time to go clean that up

Linkedin is like Xing. You don't have to be that active yourself. The headhunters will find you. ;) It's good if your profile is up to date and doesn't contain any dead links. With luck, someone will offer you a job with twice the salary for half your current working hours. Miracles happen all the time. :)

I hadn't even realized they were out there. Sad how different things could've been...

Word! Unfortunately, a lot of projects died after the fork. Some have gone to Hive and some have closed their project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06