You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is that too much?

in #steemexclusive6 days ago

Everything you wrote is very similar to our health care system. I've been seeing a dentist for ten years (or more), and it was a pretty expensive dentist by local standards, and I now realize that his results are no better than other dentists. After paying a lot of money, now at almost 40 years old I have almost no back chewing teeth left.

The situation with our laboratories is similar. How many tests you do, how many different results you will get. Choose which one you like more.

In our country, no one voluntarily goes for a medical examination. I think this is the mentality of all post-communist countries.

But you are right, probably every country has such problems.

Sort:  

Now I realize that what actually irritates me are the shenanigans that go on between the state and health workers. The state gives some money, how it will be used does not matter at all. Neither the state is interested in the well-being of the people, nor the doctors. But still, everything starts with the doctors. Or with the state, or with the mentality, or with history. The chicken or the egg? I don't know who I should be more angry at in this case - my mother (the history or the post-communist past), the GP or again the state. At everyone.
The incompetence in healthcare workers here outside the capital can be appalling. The last dentists I tried couldn't even remove tartar without damaging the surface of some teeth, which is appalling incompetence on some very basic level. Despite their shiny dentist office, big mouths and high prices. But what's also shocking to me is the lack of judgment in local people and their inability to seek and demand quality. Incompetence and unpretentiousness live here in a happy symbiosis.

now at almost 40 years old I have almost no back chewing teeth left.

Excuse me, what?
There are some natural processes in the body, but they are certainly not: losing part of your teeth in your 30s, especially visiting an expensive dentist.
I think you need to revise your judgments as well. 🙃

My parents were quite careless about my health and health culture, as well as their own, of course, and I very early on found myself with crowns and huge fillings in my mouth, until one day I realized that something was wrong and I had to change it because my parents, while pretending to be great authorities, are actually wrong in many ways.
I am telling all this to show again how our mentality is harming us, it can literally kill us (when you don't get checkups and don't take care of your own health, and you are thus unable to take care of your children's health). And I'm trying to distance myself from all that right now. At least to survive.

There are some natural processes in the body, but they are certainly not: losing part of your teeth in your 30s, especially visiting an expensive dentist.

I had excellent teeth and I took good care of them, but then I went to study (and, accordingly, live) in Lviv, 120 km from home. During the first year of living in Lviv, many of my teeth deteriorated. I don't know the cause, but the doctor suggested it was something to do with the composition of the water. I had to throw away a whole lot of money to repair all my teeth. After that, the teeth periodically demanded attention and a lot of money, but this did not help to save them.

Or with the state

I came to the conclusion that there is no reason to complain about the state. The state is not a person, it consists of millions of people. If something is wrong, then there are specific culprits.

I can give an example in this regard. You must have heard that we once had a president from the criminal world - Yanukovych. At that time, I drove to work every day in my own car, the one-way trip was about 8 km. In the last year of his rule, not a day went by that I wasn't stopped by the police. The plan was proven to the police and they needed to collect a certain amount of fines per day. These fines went to finance... no one knows where they went. Police officers are forced to look for any reason to fine a driver, even a silly one.

After some time, when the government changed, the police reform was carried out. Much has remained the same, but much has changed. The new police, when they stopped me, usually limited themselves to a warning and a recommendation on how to fix something (for example, when my rear brake light was not on).

These are small things, but they illustrate general trends.

Now I understand the situation and I am sorry for what has happened. 🙁 The same can be caused by stress as well.
By "state", I mean a government that makes laws and rules, and of course everyone below that enforces them.
In Bulgaria, somehow, it even seems that nothing changes, even with a change of governments, as a general picture. It's as if each successive government learns from the bad practices of the previous one and says: if they can do it, so can we (to loot what's left). It is nice to have changes, even small ones, but they are not noticeable here. I don't see anything to be done for the people. Something to hold onto to finally calm down. So, good for you for seeing them.

somehow, it even seems that nothing changes, even with a change of governments

Yes, it is very difficult to change a big system, and if it also brings a lot of profit, then you don't want to change it at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44