My Testimony

in #steemexclusivelast year (edited)

Introduction

‌Standing at the university gate with tears rolling down my cheeks all I could do was just to appreciate my maker and destiny helper, I stood there for about 30minutes watching students go in and out, admiring the environment you can't imagine the joy contained in my heart then, I was interrupted by a guy who probably would have been in his early 20's, tall with a dark smooth skin complexion.

He has a cute dimples with a round face and when he speaks, his voice is like that of the Igbos Ogene; he's looks caught my attention and I wasn't listening to whatever he was saying but just admiring him for about 4minutes I tried to wrap my head around why one person will have such great quality all of a sudden he tapped me and that brought me back to my senses.

He said he has been asking me if I know where the faculty of Business Administration was located then I was so happy because that is my faculty but I don't know where it is located. I finally responded after delaying him for about 4minutes, he was pleased to know that we both came for the same thing and in the same faculty, that was supposed to be our final screening into the university of uyo so, we became friends.

My family
‌ I was born into a family of seven with no one in the university environment, it wasn't easy for my parents to see five children through in secondary school so, they agreed that all of us has to stop with secondary education, a plan that we the children obliged to since feeding was a problem in the house. I planned on becoming a good hairstylist after my secondary education. I have always wanted to be able to create a great look by styling people's hair to their choice and creating unique styles.

After my secondary education
‌After my secondary level I was expected to move on with my dreams but the big question was how was I going to get the necessary fund needed for my start-up? I began to do small house chores for people maybe I could be able to save enough money for my intended business but at the end of the month I was able to save a little of nothing at all then, I know that of a truth adulthood isn't easy at all.

While I was interested in anything that can fetch me money, I came across a friend that introduced me to tech, at first I wasn't interested because I can't even operate a smart phone easily not to talk of computer or laptop and if I can't afford a little money to startup my small hair dressing business how will I be able to afford a laptop or computer? I thought of it and bid the idea farewell.

My life as a techie
But something strange happened. I wasn't able to let the word tech off my mind I just wanted to know what it was all about and how I might probably grow my business with it. So I told my friend that I would love to give tech a try. Few months in the tech space I was doing perfectly fine so my tutor gifted me a laptop, that was the most valuable gift I have ever received all my life.

My tutor's advice
‌My tutor advised that I should continue with my education to tertiary institution, so he gave me a valuable amount of money which I used to get a small smart phone and added the remaining change to the little I saved. I informed my siblings of my intention of going back to school it was really hard to get them to support me but after a second thought they decided to back me up and getting my parents consent wasn't a problem for us. I registered for the Joint Admission Matriculation Board exams and did excellently.

Now a student
‌Few months later, I checked my portal and I have been given admission by the prestigious university of Uyo Akwa-Ibom state. Though I don't know how my school fees were going to be paid but I know finally I was going to the university. I was to leave for my screening and probably pay for my hostel space at the same time but there was no money. My parents have to sell so many of our valuable properties to see me in school.

Graduating with one of the best grades
‌And yes I'm in the university studying business management and doing very well, after 4years I graduated with first class (4.9) and went straight for my youth service which I did in Jabi, Abuja.
‌I was able to secure a job in a bank as the Managing director of the Gtbank branch Jahi Abuja, I took care of my family, gave my parents the baby girl's life I have always wished to give them. And now all my siblings are in the Open university trying to get a degree.

My life after school
‌My name is Rachel the lastborn of a family of seven now in my late 20's married to Testimony, the guy I met on my first day in the university during our screening and we lived our life as a testimony.

Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66