You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections and guests

If you can't hang you shouldn't have came, is an American expression that dates back to the revolutionary war.

I have been through what you are going through and it sucks. It sucks big time. I am about two weeks into my addition of Lithium batteries to my solar/wind system. After how many years of having to make constant adjustments through the day, slowly I am sleeping in and not eating spoiled food because I forgot to move the ice down from the freezer at night or put it back in the freezer during the day.

I found out my wife had not baby blanket in 54 years and I washed it unknown to her.

When you can do nothing, do little things.
Small successes lead to big success.

This is the time for love in a relationship.

And if you need to fight to survive because it's that bad. Create a plan. Volunteer.

There were rocks in the roads everywhere. I went with my truck and gathered them all over a hundred miles of roads. One would slide around on the roads in the winter time and smack a rock. Run over sharp rocks with tires. I fixed that and used to build things here.

There were nails and tire puncturing bits of metal all over the roads. I picked them.

Here some of the local freaks decided I was worthless and waste of flesh. I wrote the small things I did that made a big difference and flatly said, I will no longer do this until I get respect!

Do the little things that are good so you have ammo so that when the comes you can step up to plate and smack a scoring hit. Jump up and catch the ball to end the inning when the bases are loaded.

It's the small things that make the world better. It makes you feel good too!

Sort:  

When I first came to this specific place almost 6 years ago, I too thought I could make a difference. I dug through a few dumpsters around and removed the most amazing things that had been lying there for years - I found a whole horse harness, with the wooden wagon bars, bathroom curtains, rugs, clothes, shoes, expired medicine, etc. I cleaned the street in front of the house every few days of cigarette butts, bottles and all kinds of household rubbish. However, one day I realized that there was no change. One particular spot at the end of the street always filled up with trash shortly after I cleaned it. It was like it was on purpose. It's as if these people here don't want to be clean, they can't stand cleanliness. Of course, that's not exactly the case, they're not doing it on purpose, or so I hope. They are simply used to throwing and dirtying, and cleanliness does not make an impression on them. I even called the garbage company that left bins for grass, leaves and branches, because those bins were always full of nylons and plastic. I thought we could do something. But it turned out we couldn't. (That was last year.)
Guess if I keep doing that this year too. It turns out that I did it for 5 years. It also turns out that I am a very stubborn and persistent person. But there comes a point where my batteries overheat or die. And I feel like a toy whose battery is damaged or dead but can no longer be replaced. And this toy is no longer able to make a single movement anymore.
This is just one small example. It's the same with job hunting. For a year and a half I've been getting last minute rejections or no response or offers for shit jobs. Not specifically here, but for the whole country, because I'm looking for a remote job. I think any reasonable person will understand that there is no point in this going on, all the efforts wasted are pointless. My battery is dead here too. Because it has reached the limit of reasonableness.
In short, I understand your strategy of small steps, but they don't work here. I have to take one big step, little ones don't help.😃

Loading...

curated by soulfuldreamer from sc03 account

curated by soulfuldreamer from sc03 account

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73