Talking With Bots

in #steememe7 years ago (edited)

1x8o7v.jpg

I'm browsing for interesting topics to read and find some conversations here on Steemit, but 90% of the posts I come across basically have no comments at all. All I see is "Nice post, follow me" comments and voting bots the authors paid for a vote. I get it, it's hard to get noticed around here, but when your posts are spammed with 5 different bots and no real conversation, you have to accept that you will make money but no interaction. Maybe Steemit is all about interaction, and not so much as what we put on the platform. But, that's just me, probably​ I'm talking nonsense​!



Sort:  

Hi there @rossenpavlov,

Hopefully you will read my comment re: the argument you got in a couple days ago with sk7's -- i didn't dig that far back but i believe your approach to this platform to be the correct -- or at least, the classier version.
Anyway, just stopping in to say hi and introduce myself. Also, to offer an invitation to check out #steemsilvergold -- it's a friendly, lively, active place with many contributors and much good will. And, if you are interested in gold&silver bullion then this is definitely the place. And if you're not interested in bullion then come by anyway -- you soon will be :)

Cheers! from @thedamus
✨⚡️✨🤘😎✨⚡️✨

The same happens to me. I always ask feedback, opinions and suggestions to my posts. And 1/3 to 2/3 of the comments I receive are from bots. I only have 350 followers and some of my articles do not get any comments. So when I start to receive replies and they are empty of content I feel a bit disappointed. I would like to have more voting power just for flagging them.

The more time I spend on Steemit I come to realize that the comments are where it's at. Sometimes is enough to put a sentence or two and start an interesting debate. It's obvious that not everyone has the time to read all the posts but can always spend a little time interacting with the other users.
Nice meme :)

Its a new platform so its hard to find ppl. I got flagged exploring and i think a bot took my reputation down to 13. Im slowly trying to get it up.

Best of luck, I'm sure you will reagin in no time. I'm giving you an upvote to help you a little.

Thanks for the upvote brah. Ill follow you and check you out often

When I see "Nice post, follow me" I flag. With no warning. But still I have a circle of people with whom I actually interact, and it's wonderful:)

Actually this is why I'm still on the platform.

I could write a bot that does that for you

:)) not really know if you're joking ...

no, I wasn't. It wold monitor the blockchain and when an entire comment matches a pattern, it could flag. I also wrote a follow bot. See my blog.

Is it possible to do it in practice, what would it take?

There are several ways to do it. A process can flag all comments whose entire text is one of "Good post.", "Nice post", and people can delegate voting power. Another idea is that people have to come to an antiabuse page with a list of comments and can flag all with one click, or maybe select some. If people leave posting keys, then it can do all the flagging without intervention but that creates a honey pot . I judge nobody badly if they like the last idea, because I leave money on exchanges. There are merits in these designs but I feel the bestnis yet to come to me.
[I thought my ptevious reply failed. So I wrote this one]

Thank you for clarifying it. I will think about it.

I think the software's best design is that it scans the blockchain for such comments and people delegate voting power to let it flag. There is no need for uses to come lend thier key daily, and no storing of private keys. One time use of a key is superior to having the users enter it multiple times or storing keys ( shudder )

Well, actually a newbie can write it before knowing that it's considered spam. I flag when I see tendency, but when it's one time comment - well, everyone can make a mistake:)

Agreed^

The first couple of weeks on steemit is a steep learning curve. But anyone with a rep over 35 should not be begging for f4f...

:)) yeah that was my first thought... and I was a little disappointed, cause it beats the whole idea of this community. But I found some people here, which have something meaningful to say

Yes, like 5% of the authors. Still, ​it's better than nothing. New users want quick rewards and they don't see how this is bad for them and the platform in the long term. But as long as people are making money, they don't really care.

They want instant gratification. By means of money and power we run our society...many don't understand the benefits of a decentralized system, and that is how they respond to it, with old ways ...We are in a big need for change, so I think it's coming

I just hope the price of Steem will not crush gaian because of exploiting the rewards pool. After all, it's an attention-based platform, and if no one is paying attention thing can go from bad to worse very rapidly. But, as you said, it's a decentralized system, and it's up to us to talk about these issues.

I have a swarm of bots but the highest voting bot is a person whom I know. He included me in his bot when he got to 800SP or whatever the amount is. I am cool with it until I am there too. The "Nice info" or "F4F" or whatever comments get old fast but the buddy-bot is cool with me.

Yes, this is a much better and organic way to grow on Steemit, and you don't have to pay.

I read your posting every word. There are people who really read and try to communicate. :)

I know, but this is the idea of blogging.

You don't talk nonsense. You are right. We need to interact more with each other, post interesting comments that generate discussion.

The more active we are the easier it's to grow on the platform. I don't have a problem with people paying for votes, it's their money after all. The problem is it's no enough just to make a profit from a post to be successful. So many people fail to realize that.

Definitely too many robots here on Steemit these days.

Maybe they can make a seperate Steemit just for bots :)

Your post is view 41 times and upvoted 19, congrats your trafic is organic and your followers are great.

Well, you know me, I like to complain :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52