You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dragons & Whales, treasure & Steem Power.

in #steememe8 years ago

I think non gimmicky contests should be more commonplace. Especially those targeted at users who have never had a post make more than $10 or so. Some of the more well known users here could easily make a contest post and use the SBD to pay out five winners or more and promote them. Whether that be a creative writing contest, poem, song, etc. Those with lots of exposure have the ability promote some people who right now are flying under the radar.

Redistributing the wealth here will only make steemit better in the long run. Having whales who care about other users and dolphins who help new users as they have been helped will go a long way towards sustaining long term growth and stable prices.

Sort:  

I really like the idea and i'm sure things like that could work well. The only thing that concerns me is that the winners are chosen subjectively. Perhaps if competitions are judged by many within the community, that might make it fairer and more palatable to those who make an effort to join in but do not win.

This is true. But also a part of everyday life. We choose what we enjoy most and spend our time and attention there. A group of whales or dolphins could have a bunch of winners and write a little about each entry that clearly shows some effort.

I also like the idea that I've seen to choose one of your followers and write about them. Even if it makes a dollar and you split it with that person, it's nice to be appreciated for your effort and the community and friendships made here are what will keep people on steemit. The money is nice, but I think is a far second compared to the people I have met and become friends with.

I've had more meaningful engaging conversations with driven creative people in a little over a month than in ten years on all other social media combined. It's a beautiful thing.

I could not agree more. I had not heard about the write-about-a-follower initiative. That sounds absolutely amazing. Another stunning example of community innovation that bring value and connections in a fabulous way. Do you know where the idea originated? I love to read the post and will give some thought to participating.

I love your take. It's very closely aligned with mine.

Yes!
The post is doing what it was designed to do!
Get the dialogue started and explore the ideas!
I really like the "special events" that are hosted by big accounts who can afford to give rewards and also give exposure.
As far as subjective goes no matter what life is going to be subjective. Thats what makes beauty beauty.
I don't think subjectivity is the problem because I know there are a lot of good articles out there that people like. Its just that they are not getting UPVoted by big accounts and thus not getting much exposure.

thanks very much bendjmiller222!

Can you imagine how frikin awesome this place is going to be when everything have matured, there's a ton more people and the true benefits begin revealing themselves? Every time I get a glimpse of it my hairs stand up!

I saw it by @jacor but I believe it was suggested by @himself

Here's The Link To @Jacors Post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60745.98
ETH 2342.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52