4 Fun & Educational Spring Activities for Kids

in #steemeducation6 years ago (edited)

educational spring activites for kids.jpg

I don’t know about you, but I am ready for the weather to warm up. Spring is just around the corner, thankfully. My two boys are dying to get out of the house more, as they are also tired of the freezing temperatures!

We have already begun planning some educational fun for our kiddos this spring. It’s never too early to start the planning! Plus, it gives the family something to look forward to as the winter season comes to a close.

sep2.png

4 Fun & Educational Spring Activities for Kids

1. Start a garden.

Springtime is the right time to plant something new. As your children tend to their plants and watch them grow, they learn about life cycles. This is an excellent opportunity to talk about healthy foods, if you are growing vegetables in your garden. Gardening also teaches patience, and that just like them, plants start small and need to be nurtured into order to grow.

starting a garden.png

Plus, gardening is a great bonding experience for kids and their parents! I still remember the times I helped my grandfather in his garden. All the stories he shared and talks we had during those times were some of the best of my childhood.

sep2.png

2. Have an outdoor scavenger hunt.

Take a closer look at your backyard or local park this spring. Notice the plants and trees that grow in your area, and talk about their differences with your kids. If your child is interested, you could even snap photos of different plants and then learn more about them online.

outdoor scavenger hunt.jpg

Don’t forget to look for wildlife or insects while on your scavenger hunt. Discuss what lives in your neighborhood. For older children, you may want to plan out what they should be looking for, but for younger kids, just exploring is fun enough!

sep2.png

3. Go on a hike.

Broaden your child’s knowledge of the great outdoors by going for a hike in a nearby forest or mountain. Discuss the different plants or animals you see, and see if your children can find the same things you found in your backyard or park.

hiking with family.png

Let your kids help prepare for the hike too. This teaches them life survival skills and what they should have on hand before they go off on a hike.

sep2.png

4. Make a bird house.

Hang homemade bird feeders around your property to attract new species to your backyard. The construction can teach children how to put things together as well as how to use simple tools like a hammer and nails.

build a birdhouse.jpg

Once you have hung the bird house, extra learning opportunities will come up as the birds arrive for a quit bite. Watch for activity at the feeders and discuss the types of birds that visit with your kids.

sep2.png

Wrapping Up

There you have it! Four ways you can celebrate the warm weather of spring while also teaching your children new concepts. When the season gets here, you can head outside and take advantage of the learning that nature has to offer.

I know my family and I can’t wait to do all of these…in fact, we have already made a new birdhouse. We are just waiting until closer to the first day of spring to hang it.



Follow my profile, @keciah, for more fun and helpful articles!

blank-2.gif

Sort:  

That's great i liked it.we should promote this.

Thanks, glad you liked it! :)

Yes, it's important to have such fun outdoors activities for kids to stimulate their brains and push them to physical activities... Are you a teacher or educator?

Thank you for your comment. And yes, I agree that being outside is beneficial to kids in so many ways! I am neither, but I was an education major in college before my oldest son came along. And I have done home preschooling with each of them (my oldest before he started public school, and now with my 4 year old).

Great... That's how you come up with those ideas. Keep them coming... bringing up kids is a major responsibility and people need to know how to do it in the right way :)

I love that you threw scavenger hunt on here. Those were my favourite when I was little.

Thanks for dropping by! Yes, my boys love them too.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by keciah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Starting up gardening is the most awesome activity! I like to be in the soil. XD

Yes, it's certainly a fun activity. And once you've worked hard on it, you are rewarded with yummy food or beautiful flowers!

That's really good for motivation :)

Great ideas! We live in the town of Eternal Spring here in Panama and we love to be outside. :) I need to do a better job of engaging them while we doing walks and such. Thanks for putting this together. :) #thesteemengine

Ahh, I'm jealous! Though we are in the South of the US, it still gets unbearably cold during the winter. I love one snow, then I'm ready to switch back to my flip flops!

This is a great activity @keciah. My favorite is the outdoor scavenger hunt. It's amazing what things you'll find when doing so. This helps kids appreciate nature and take care of them.

Exactly! I think the more children know about nature, the more they understand how and why to nurture it.

Definitely. Thanks for sharing this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59