How To Steemit 101: 'How Steemit Upvote Works'

in #steemeducation6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemit friends, the purpose of this post is to answer common questions newbies always ask. They've ask a lot, like in discord's channel or commenting in authors page. So, I will try my best to answer it as I personally interpret it. All opinions of other authors are welcome to comment down below.

How To Steemit 101.jpg

What Is an Upvote?

Like other social media program, these method or gesture is to show how readers or audience love your work. This is also the start of communication within posts. So, an upvote is a form of "reward" to a post. The value of a reward in "upvote" corresponds to authors value or what we called "steem".

What Is Steem then?

When somebody upvoted your post or even "self-vote" it actually comes from the steem pool in which you are set as a value. The common misunderstanding here is, some thinks that it will deduct to your existing pool or rewards but it's not. The highlight of this is that, everyday new STEEM are produced that adds to the rewards pool.

Capture.JPG

The rewards pool is divided to all steemit active authors and creates value per upvote. Ex. a high rep around 70+ will have, approximate high value upvote per click.

dante01, What Happens Next If I Vote?

Basically, you are tapping to the rewards pool and telling steemit that you wanted to designate it to a post that you like. The value of your "upvote" determines how much SP or Steem Power you have. This is where you can calculate a certain amount of SP that converts your value in upvote (https://www.steemnow.com/upvotecalc.html).

image.png

Additional to that, as I said with regarding to high reputed authors. Curation rewards circulates with high value upvote. Curation helps newbies with there outstanding post and to get started with funding their SP's. (I suggest that you invest in SP at least a month so you can contribute more in the community)


Steemit upvote program is one of the best and unique initiative social media could have. From the day I've started, my value per upvote now is $0.06 in 100% and around $0.01 in 0%. This year 2018, I will invest more in my Steem Power to boost my value so that I could contribute more in the community.

I hope that in a little way I contribute knowledge with this. If you have questions and clarification and if I stated wrong here, please let me know by commenting below.

Happy New Year to all and I bid you guys blessings in 2018

DANTE01.png

Sort:  

Well explained

cool guide sir @dante01 :) I especially found this new info useful:

I suggest that you invest in SP at least a month so you can contribute more in the community

So this is for Steem Power Up option? It seems like a good thing to do, sir. I'll start investing on SP when I get my first Steems. hehe. thanks!

So this is for Steem Power Up option?

Yes indeed! It will also helped you a lot. Thank you for considering the method. Happy New Year God bless!

Cool, thanks for verifying, sir Dante. I can sort of see the value in investing in SP regularly like you said. I'm looking forward on your next post where you discuss more about SP. thanks!

A big thank you!! Im a newbie too and this really helped!

You're most welcome @tyrocco. Welcome to #steemit community!
You may resteem this to help more new authors like you :)

@dante01 thank you appeal to @sportic. Your post will see more than 7.5K of my followers

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kuya D | dante01 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Learning content. Thank you for contributing to enhance the community. I learned stuffs here as a newbie.

I humbly suggest that you follow authors that contribute much and has higher reputations. This will bring conversation and also you'll learn a lot from them as I did.

Thank you for dropping by. Happy New Year and God bless!

This post has received gratitude of 0.50 % from @appreciator thanks to: @dante01.

Awesome! Good thing I looked into education today. You really summarized it well.

Just a quick question, I would like to invest in steem power since my vote is just 0.01 even if 100%. There are times where I really want appst and I cant reward it.

How can I increase my steempower to I could better reward those people who deserve it?

Hi @josejirafa. I think there's a "Power Up" option to increase SP using STEEM. But hopefully, sir @dante01 can confirm this too.

Oh okay so thats it. Hmm I only have 1 steem. Would that help?

I think we need more to really power up. I still have ZERO steem haha. But I just read that if you have SBD, you can convert it to STEEM then use it to power up.

Hi @josejirafa

Thank you for raising that question. That will be my next topic.
I hope that you'll tune in.

Thanks. I will. You have my word

good knowledge for beginners. Resteemed

Thank you for your kind support @resteemhorizon
Happy New Year!

so good to share @dante01

Thanks for dropping by @mcsamm. God bless and Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52