Sort:  

Steem Monsters Maverick vote coming your way......

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome, thanks! And thanks for showing up and playing! The vote will be going to fund the next tournament, this was just a test run to see what was up, glad to see a decent amount of people (to me at least) got to play.. I mean the tournament did show as a $0 prize lol. I went ahead and gave everyone who played a card just for showing up. And even the two people I think that checked in but didn't play... cause hey, sometimes you just got to pee or take a phone call, but you were so close thanks for trying, gave them a couple of cards too.

Going through a couple of ideas for prizes. I know one is a physical prize but my fear is that someone outside U.S. would win and so I would possibly put a small entry fee on that one to ensure shipping gets covered. But I hate non free stuff so I'm all torn on what I will be giving away for that one. Love the tournament set up so far though. I have played more tournaments than I have fingers and toes by now, and I don't think I've made it past the second round lol. Still fun though.

Yeah, I'm still finding my feet with tournaments. I didn't play the old style with Chall0nge as I found it just way too clunky and unfriendly.

Was there much involved in setting up the tournament? I'm tempted to run a couple for shits and giggles myself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Things are really straight forward fill in boxes or drop downs with stuff to pick as far as numbers. I had the ability to pick the background, which was a trippy ass picture of Selma but I don't know how it looked for players as I did enter, but I felt it would be wrong if I won my own tournament so I decided to not play. So if there was a preview window for that, that would be neat (CC @steemmonsters team). Pretty easy peasy and I'm sure they got more upgrades and little things to come.

Hello !

Thank you very much for your tournament !

I really appreciate that you sponsor this tournament and it was a pleasure for me to take part.

I just have one small question, also if I play for fun only:

How you sort out the prizes ?

I mean it's clear, that first and second place, but f.e. their was 8 players you lost in second round. From this 8 players (I'm also one of this players) 2 get price (9-10) and 6 not, but all of them has won 1 fight and lost one fight.

Why not share the pricepool for places 9-10 in 8 parts and give everybody just a smaller price.

I'm in the result on place 11 with 1:1 - 9 and 10 also have 1:1 - why they are before me - after what criteries you have sorted out this ?

Thank you very much for an answer and I also gave you a 100%-upvote !

My understanding is that final placings i each round are determined by an algorithm on the Steem Monsters site directly and tournament hosts have no bearing on that.

Interesting point about the prizes though. Keeping it even with say 3rd & 4th winning the same because they both made the same round, then 5th to 8th as well. I guess the challenge there would come when your prize pool didn't have enough to extend to all players eliminated in the same round

Posted using Partiko Android

It might come down to the system will have to catch when there is an uneven amount of prizes to players and have an automatic death match function to break ties down the rankings. This could definitely be done.

I asked @aggroed in Discord and he told that difference between win and lost will be the point to decide about places, but: Often (like in this case) this difference is the same and even than steemmonsters Annonce placement, so it should be more criteries, maybe just raffle ?

" I guess the challenge there would come when your prize pool didn't have enough to extend to all players eliminated in the same round"

To be honest I don't understand this - I mean tournaments are played in K.O.-System (single elemination), so if you set up prices in power of two (1/2/4/8/16/32 and so on) you know exactly how many players can share the price pool.
Also if payout is in STEEM and lowest payment would be 0.001 STEEM you can pay with 1 STEEM for 1000 players, so I really cannot imagine that this can be a problem.

Though every host will be have his or her own budget and their own thoughts on how they want to pay it out. The tournament feature is still very much in it's infancy though, and I'm sure @aggroed would appreciate your feedback on tweaks that may improve the system overall

Posted using Partiko Android

OK this is a good idea, maybe I just go to his blog and post their something.

Hi @udow! This was just a test run of a tournament, so the little specifics on how the split was made between the last place rankings when the prize is set with just however many places I had put is decided by the system. Which, I see by the rankings is not fair in this case. So I'm going to make it right right now, I see that you and @positive77 @swordsoffreedom @hiroyamagishi @cryptobychirag are all owed 0.02 Steem to be the same as the winning of koolitime and I will also add 0.01 to @dasgup to make him or her even up as well. Sorry for any issues and hope you had fun, good luck on any further tournaments!

Yes definitely I had fun, I also like the "Best of 1" for two reasons:

  1. Tournament take not so long.
  2. You have really chance to beat strong player if you surprise him - in best of 3 probably after you win the first fight you loose the next two and be out, so it really suites me with best of 1.

For the price pool I would suggest for the future to take power of two (8 or 16 in this case) for number of prices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67