You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Steem has altered my beliefs towards freedom of speech

in #steemdrama7 years ago

Interesting. I have not seen steem as an experiment for controlled anarchy but I think you are right.

If it works out...?

I dont know atm, I was a big believer when I bought in here but got my illusions shattered rather quickly.

So far I stayed out of any drama here on steemit and I think I will go on like this for a while since my influence is limited anyway but also if I want to start downvoting more I am not sure how I would do it (so far I only downvoted spammer). Should I downvote anything I disagree on? Poorly written articles, pictures I dont like?

If I am pro vaccination everything which is contra vaccination and vice versa?

Sort:  

I wanted to believe it would work out, too. But who are we kidding - it has never worked throughout history, and this wasn't going to be different. I'm just glad no one was violated physically.

Yeah, best to stay out of drama. Just write what you like to, read and curate what you like to. It's a pretty great good platform :)

I feel you should downvote anything that you don't like but has been heavily rewarded. Personally, I don't downvote mediocre content, but that's more because I want to preserve my voting power to curate good content. I will, however, downvote overrewarded irrational nonsense.

If I am pro vaccination everything which is contra vaccination and vice versa?

Not sure what you mean?

Maybe a bad example...

Downvoting content I disagree with. If I dont like Trump downvoting Pro-Trumps articles and the other way around.

Yes, I think you should feel free to downvote content to express a negative opinion about it. Think of it as the downvote on Reddit or thumbs down on YouTube.

Then, I hope that "Flag" will be renamed to "Downvote" and moved next to the "Upvote" button. Because it's confusing for many users the way it is now.

I think this is the source of much of the strife. I've been told "Flag" used to be "Downvote" in the UI but I don't know when that changed or what the rationale was. So long as "Flag" acts like a downvote then it should be labeled as such. Then we'd have way more people downvoting, it wouldn't feel like special (bad) treatment and people would just get over it (eventually).

Exactly! And it shouldn't need a hard fork to switch to "downvote".

No it won't - just a label in the Steemit UI. I note that busy.org and the esteem mobile apps (soon to be a webapp too) use "Flag" instead of downvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54396.77
ETH 2275.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31