#steemdonate - A Proposal

in #steemdonate7 years ago (edited)

#steamdonate

donate_heart.png

I want to do something to help the people that have helped me in the past. So, in that vein here is my proposal. As a #steemgig service, I want to provide money to various people and charities. So, I want to start a little trend.

This is what I want to do. I would like 50%, or more of the value of the steem and SBD earned from this post will go to a random charity that you recommend in the comments.

This being the first post in #steemdonate it is going to require a little explaining. In future posts, most of this will not need reiteration.

You recommend a charity in the comments; I will choose one using random.org as a generator to select a "winner." I will make a post after researching and learning a bit about that charity. I wish to do it this way to personalise it, not just a "Donate to x", and that be it. The charity can be a person that is in need. If this is the case, the research will be a chat or interview type thing.

  • If the post earns less than $100, I will donate 50% to the charity. The other 50% will go to me for the time spent writing and researching the charity.
  • If the post earns more than $100, I will donate 75% to the charity. The other 25% will go to me for the time spent writing and researching the charity.
  • If the charity is a person and they use steem then the transaction will be viewable forever.
  • Anytime it is questioned, I will provide receipts for the donation. I wish to do this on request, so all of my time isn't spent bookkeeping and auditing.
  • The donation will be made once a month to allow for more views.

Backup plan, if this becomes too much of a burden on me, then I will happily pass the torch to someone else that wants to do this.


Donation I - Electronic Frontier Foundation

First up is https://eff.org. I chose this one to start because it is probably well known throughout this community.

For those that may not know what the EFF does. Here is a short rundown. They defend digital privacy and free speech.
A good place to start would be EFF in the News where you can see what they are up to at the moment and what is gaining media attention. They have an excellent track record for helping people in need of legal counselling and could not afford it otherwise. Obviously it has to be something they stand for as they are not going to defend just anything.

They also offer some nice software and extensions for your browser. You should check out Privacy Badger and HTTPS Everywhere. With those two you should be pretty secure. You can alway test your browser @ Panotpticlick if you think the extensions you use are good enough.

Final

Well hopefully, this doesn't get buried and unread. I'm not doing this as a get rich scheme. I want to give back to people that deserve it. Sometimes it's just easier to upvote and/or resteem an article than it is to go through the process yourself. So, with that note, I'm signing off on this message. (Do I need to post a public GnuPG key maybe and sign stuff?)


steem-label-250px.png

Michael Garcia a.k.a. @thecrazygm
The images are Public Domain.
Upvote and resteem please!




Sort:  

@inphiknit how about this one?

It's a terrific idea! @steemitcharity was doing something like this, but seems to have stopped posting 8 months ago. It would be great if this catches on @thecrazygm!

Since no one has suggested one yet, I'm partial to charities who plant food bearing trees...

Do you have one in mind, since you are the first and only suggestion, it will probably be this?

Tbh, I only know Jewish ones. JNF is one of them.

That's fine, religion is not an issue, ever.

this is a nice gesture, keep it up! followed and upvoted. hope you do the same ;)

Congratulations @thecrazygm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Feed my starving children is an interesting charity

can you donate me some steem please...

Of course, this is all in the works, things will need to be fleshed out more. Like should I use random choice or should we upvote or another way?

Nice one maybe i will do something simular :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56