Steemit - "Trending post" or "Overrated Shits"!

in #steemdevs6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

After an adventurous experience of 6 months on this decentralized platform, many times I feel that the Trending section of Steemit is full of "Overrated Shits"! Not every post but you can see much of them without even scrolling down the Trending webpage! The problem is, that trending page must not be a place for random posts and shits. Steemit is big platform and there are many users who actually write quality posts but they do not have enough wallet balance to push their post. And in end, this quality bloggers/authors went unseen.

But Before I Start...

I respect you and I love you guys! I am not against anyone, all I want to grab attention on this serious topic. I respect everyone's talent and everyone has the right to speak!

ovs.png

  • Steemit is a growing site but unlike other social site's trending page, Steemit trending page is a bit worse in comparisons.
  • 6 Months ago, the trending page is full of selfie challenges with a big reward pool, and now many big people just put their garbage which is of no value, I mean completely no value, pushing up their garbage on trendings without even thinking that our trending page is the place where people visit more and throwing garbage in this place will be going to hamper the ideology of many small users.
  • Trending page is not the place to fight, ( Recent clashes in between haejin, berniesanders and transisto) and not even the better place to share your personal matters.

Why I am raising this problem?

  • Actually, it is not just my problem but many intellectuals and good bloggers share the same thoughts.Trending page is the place where a "newbie" hops first!
  • I can right away show you bunch of posts on trending page which are not meant to be there or created. I am not the right person and I hold no authority to say someone's post junk or garbage but still, it is called Common sense. You can see and differentiate between good or bad!
    ba.png
  • This post is currently sitting on #1 spot on trending page. Questions were raised on both @dmania and @ned. I am not saying that there is any problem with this post, this post is correct and raising issues but do we need to pump it up using bots to the #1 spot. Instead of investing it in bots, make a team offer some sbd's and make them clear @dmania shits. By this way, we are helping both steemit and its users.
  • Even this post creates a thought that there is no internal system in steemit to cope up or detect plagiarism. It is going to affect the ideology of @dmania's users!
  • I request you to go to the trending page and see it yourself!

I went to a whale and discuss the same issues...

  • A week ago, I went to a whale on discord, to discuss this issue. I said that there must be a way to resolve this issue.
  • You will get amazed after reading his replies to me!

Whale replied, "I am not into this(do not want to jump into ongoing clashes), It's not my work! Business and profit is my first priority"

  • That whale is currently running 2500+ members, discord server. I asked him in the live discord chat session, and he ignored my questions!
  • The words were crushing my head and ideology, I was like, "if you are not going to do this, who will be going to do it?"
  • We are earning from Steemit, and its our responsibility to make steemit more better! Not to just come earn rewards, fill your bittrex or blocktrades and go away!

What to do with Trending page?

  • Trending page must have an interactive tab which can easily take the users to their favorite category trends. Currently, there is a tab but it is not interactive and I don't think so that anyone uses it anymore!
  • We need to make a subsystem in the root of steemit which can deal with current problems and can tackle future predictions!
  • Make it a bit complex so that no-bid bots upped post can be there on primary trending page, there must be a separate section which displays the current issues and the rules with this separate section issue page is must be same as of trending page, so that people can upvote, modify the issues or support it! Just like Github!
  • Make it more interactive, it still feels like a static page. It's my humble request as there are many people who judge the book by their cover!

Yes I am a resistor #RESIST

Cheaters Just pray so that I will never become a big whale! I am ready to kick you even as a minnow!

Sort:  

``Trending page must have an interactive tab'' with "recommended" algorithms of some kind. The user should be able to feed natural language constraints to the algorithm to tailor it a bit more to their liking, while a separate "recommended" would exist for those not logged in or not registered. That would at least prevent drama and spam which most new users or nonusers don't bother with from showing up, for them, on top. That would drastically increase the number of new users coming and staying, and grow the platform, because most people don't have much time and judge the site by the trending page, even if few existing users do that.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vishalsingh4997 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00