Ned has spoken. Promoting Steem through card tournament, basketball and even segway polo!

in #steemdev7 years ago (edited)

I was watching Ned's talk on Steem speak via a YouTube live stream. He talked about everything from community tokens, scalability and how the infrastructure could handle millions of new users.
You can find the live stream I watched here. Credit goes to the user who sent me their link. I'm not sure if he has the same name on here as his discord. But hit him up with a sub guys!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?list=WL&v=VZHKBRKt_cg

One story that really intrigued me was how @ned spoke about a man that came up to him at one of the events. The gentleman sold water bottles in Mexico City that had Steem written on it. His idea was to one day sell them and when the barcode was scanned the purchaser would be given Steem. The more I thought about it I could see some issues. I work at a place that has barcodes for scanning items. It would make more sense to use a card that would store the Steem reward points if items with special barcodes were confirmed as being purchased.
But I see an even grander application. Checkins for Steem.

I am running a few tournaments this summer. The facility I will be using has four basketball courts inside. It is about to open to the public in the coming weeks. In the mean time I was wanting to christen it with a "ball for college" tournament. The intention being that kids who compete start thinking about school and setting aside money in their savings to prep for it. I even created a token for it but wasn't sure how to introduce kids to cryptocurrency with a new coin that wasn't market tested.
Then I realized I needed to use an undervalued coin that will boom. And expect their savings for college to boom also from something awesome; Steem.
My design idea is this.
One person will have a smart phone with an app that generates QR codes.
Visitors will scan the qr code with their phone and check in. And automatically (or at first manually by the qr code holder)have a certain amount of stem sent to them if there's a wallet. If they do not have a wallet. They are taught how to make one with open wallet and will have a steem accepting wallet made within ten minutes.
Just for going to the event they earn steem. It opens up a dialogue for what steem is and its applications.
When the first round ends. The winning squads scan a new QR code that gives them even more steem. So on and so forth until the finals where first, second and third placed teams have their own unique QR code to scan for each member of the team.

This will be done for basketball tournaments. But I want to expand this to other games such as ultimate Frisbee, card games like poker and magic the gathering and even the Segway polo league we have coming up!

Screenshot_20170520-004348.png

I want to have this going as soon as possible. Ideas and suggestions are welcome.

Sort:  

please remove the tag #Steemdev it's for software development.
You should use #steem and #steemit
I'll turn my downvote into an upvote.

After further research apprently I can not change primary tags. Can you just reverse your vote? There's literally nothing as I understand correctly that I can do.

Sounds like you have some great ideas. Followed you to see more updates... Would love to promote steem at some Magic events as I'd eventually like to trade cards for crypto instead of hard cash.

I remember googling to see if you can do that when I first found out about cryptocurrency. Maybe at my tournaments you can one day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98