You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Addressing the impact of delay SMT release

in #steemdev6 years ago

good write up... I do not have a detailed technical understanding of this, but it seems to me there will still be differences between SMTs and EOS. From their whitepapers, it doesn't seem they are targetting the exact same markets... SMTs are more focussed on web content unlike EOS which is really being built like a platform for many different types of Dapps.... will have to see how the use cases for both plays out

Sort:  

but it seems to me there will still be differences between SMTs and EOS

Yes - STEEM has (unfortunately and wrongly IMHO) branded itself as one for web and social media. Whereas EOS is general purpose.

From the code base, as such, without multi-threading, I don't see too much of differences in EOS ... Though I may be missing things and its definitely too early to make any comments. EOS definitely have better mechanisms for implementing smart contracts.

will have to see how the use cases for both plays out

yes :)

What do you mean with

EOS definitely have better mechanisms for implementing smart contracts.

What smart contract implementing mechanisms are available for Steem? Are there any?

Its a mistake

Well, I should have written STEEM doesn't have smart contracts right now and with SMTs it may have some support ... or atleast the SMT white paper mentions smart contracts.

OK, thanks for the correction. :)

As I see it, EOS is much more than just Steem 2.0. On paper for now, of course ...

:-)

I was disappointed to find that the multi-threading is not there .. I was under the impression that "horizondal scaling" means multi-threading, worker pools, ability to use multiple physical machines for the blockchain etc. Anyway, I am playing with the core Graphene and STEEM code base now and its essentially a clever & robust "productization" of the boot C++ library from what I could grasp so far. One few months I am hoping to have a bit more knowledge to make a better assessment.

Yes - STEEM has (unfortunately and wrongly IMHO) branded itself as one for web and social media.

From economic and marketing perspective I'd say this was the best approach. EOS is pretty mus STEEM upgraded with better token distribution and bigger war chest and better devs. In such a situation, specialization is the best course of action. It even makes scaling easier and create better brand recognition. When people see STEEM they'd think it's the best pick for any social media related project. GTA has cars and shooting. But people who primarily want to drive or shoot pick NFS and some other shooter games.

agree on all except the scaling aspect. The reason being, without multi-threading, EOS and STEEM remains pretty much the same unless I am mistaken.

When I said "It even makes scaling easier" I meant that it is easy to scale to handle all the world's blockchain social media than scaling your platform to be capable of functioning as a general purpose blockchain which requires you to be capable of being a general purpose smart contract platform. I refuse to accept 100,000 Tx/s as sufficient to become a general purpose smart contract platform. With little over 60K Daily Active Users STEEM is almost at 20 Tx/s Even without SMTs we'd still need better performance if Steemit, Busy, DTube, Dlive, Dmania, Zappl, Steepshot needs to go head on with their respective competition. Add Wechat to the competitors list and STEEM is already at the risk of being like Bitcoin.

Now think about scaling solutions for a platform that aims to cater to social media specialized tokens. Things get harder. Take it to the general purpose level and you have a nightmare. I'm a fan of DPoS. I think EOS will change the world. But I also think EOS with multi-threading is the advent of this generation's dial-up internet.

They are just calling it "BFT DPoS" right now haha

Finality in 2 seconds is just really amazing. I also came across this interesting project: https://blog.cosmos.network/consensus-compare-tendermint-bft-vs-eos-dpos-46c5bca7204b

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89