Please help me understand Steemit rewards! $138 rewards missing from the past 3 weeks.

in #steemdev6 years ago (edited)

I am asking for help, whoever understands how Steemit rewards payments work, please explain in the comments. Because I am very frustrated right now and concerned about placing my trust in Steemit!

I have been very active, spending a lot of hours, investing my time and energy into creating fresh content for Steemit: writing blog posts, sharing my own, personal collection of photography and reviews of places I visit when traveling.

I understand that steemit is a new type of platform, which is based on a crytocurrency (STEEM), with a volatile market, which fluctuates up and down every day. However, that still doesn't explain what seems to be happening.

I have been using @steem-plus which is very helpful in many ways. One of the things I have been noticing is the difference between my wallet account value shown on Steemit ($1040.85), which uses the average value of Steem over the past 7 days, compared with the Steem Plus wallet calculation, which shows the value of my account based on today's STEEM price ($975.81), which is a difference of $65 (due to market fluctuation).

That's not what I'm concerned about, please see below where I will try to explain what doesn't seem to add up (literally).

What I am so concerned about, is because which appears to be happening are that payments seem to be missing! So this unrelated to the market fluctuations.

Specifically, what I am trying to make sense of is how to easily determine exactly how much the rewards earnings should be as related to the money that shown when you add up the numbers on my blog posts.

Each blog post shows a $ value which doesn't seem to add up over time.

Here are some examples of recent blog posts, which I am not able to easily see if I was paid for them correctly or not. As you can see, it shows a reward of $96, for just this one post.

I know that it takes 7 days for the reward to come through, but I never saw this $96!

Where is the money???

Here are another two recent posts, which add up to $68 more.

Here are two more, $44 and $27, which is $71 more.

The total of just the above, in the last 3 weeks should be $235, however...

As you can see below, the TOTAL amount of rewards received adds up to only $97. Based on my calculations, this is $138 missing from just the past few weeks! What is going on here?!

Thank you @ned for Steemit, this platform is amazing!

Big shoutout to @jerrybanfield and his budgets project that support the development of SteemPlus!

Thank you to @stoodkev and @cedricguillas for @steem-plus !

Update: Thank you to @ragepeanut and @steven-patrick for helping explain this to me! What I learned is that the $ value shown on the blog posts is in US Dollars, but the rewards come after a week and you only receive 75%, and then it is converted into STEEM and SBD, once you take out the 25% for curators and do the conversions, the numbers get closer, but I still wish there was an easier way to see this without having to perform so much work manually.

Sort:  

Post rewards are split ~75% author / ~25% curators. One of the posts you screenshot is 3 days old so its rewards will come in 4 days. The other four posts rewarded you just like they should have as you can see on the screenshots below.



Thank you, this is very helpful information to understand. The other part I didn't know was the amount shown on the posts is in $ US Dollars and the rewards then need to be converted as only 75%.

I think its like this $96 US$. 75% is $72 US$. Then SBD was running about $2/SBD so thats 36 SBD

Finally, I think you've explained it! Now it's starting to make more sense, but still, this is all very confusing and I think we need some better tools to help make this more clear and easy to follow. Thank you again!

It's not exactly like that. You get ~75% of the $96, 75% is the lowest percentage you can get on the post rewards. It usually ranges from 75 to 80% depending on different factors. In the case of this post it was precisely 75.55%, which is $72.567. Half of that amount is rewarded in SBD's, the other half is rewarded in Steem Power. But there is a catch ! SBD's are rewarded on a one to one basis, in other words they are rewarded as if they were worth $1 no matter what their market price is. Knowing that, it explains why you got 36.282 SBD (which is exactly the same as 72.567/2). Steem Power is rewarded looking at its market price. At the time of getting rewarded it was worth $3.465, so you got $36.282 divided by $3.464 which is equal to 10.474 Steem Power.

Put these two numbers next to each other and you get :
36.282 SBD + 10.474 Steem Power

As for the tools, I suggest you look at this ;) https://evildido.github.io/ShowMeMySteemReward/index.html

Thx @ragepeanut I was making it up as a went. haha Good to know how it really works.

Not really, look at my reply to @supernova55's reply for a more in depth explanation :)

I use two tools to look at my account
https://steemd.com/@supernova55
http://www.steem.supply/
Start there

I also have used this tool https://steemviz.com/pendingpayouts
I've having trouble finding an easy way to look at past posts...

To see your past payouts ... Click Rewards on your profile page and then click author rewards. A list of your payouts will then be shown.

Edit : I just realized you meant post not post payouts. I agree its difficult to pin point a specific post.

Thank you so much, @steve-patrick ;-)

This is very helpful, however, the rewards still don't seem to add up using these tools either, a lot of value still seems to be missing. Have you noticed anything similar with your account or have you received what you expected to get paid? Thanks again!

I have noticed every time I use a Bot I end up losing money , but I guess thats another story.

Yes, it is a pity?!!
I have had also noticed the same, it is not worth paying!!
It is better if we upvote reach other and help each others!!

We need to write a blog about them!

Happy and lovely holiday weekend. 🎺🎻🎵🎧 @richardgreen🤗✌

I see you have got the help you were looking for. I really wish Steemit would simplify the wallet.

Steem .... Steem Power .. SBD ... Post rewards shown in USD ....

I agree with you, @rentmoney 🤗

We need to write a blog on the subject and maybe something positive happens, less complicated?!🏆

Lovely day! 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57171.31
ETH 3134.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26