Steem VP: Browser Extension To Monitor Your Voting Power and Value

in #steemdev6 years ago (edited)

Introducing a new chrome and firefox browser extension to monitor your (or any account's) voting power and vote value at adjustable vote strengths. No keys needed!

Christmas is over and with boredom setting in I thought I would bang out a simple handy steem browser extension. You can grab it at the chrome or firefox stores.

It shows you your current voting power, and the value of your next vote at whatever voting strength you select. Pretty straightforward. ;)

vp.jpg

Enjoy! And please resteem to spread the word. Cheers.

Sort:  

I'm only 10 days old here. Would I be able to use the slider yet? I got told I need to be here for a while before I could do that? Is that extension good for noobs like me?

As a minnow, you (and I for that matter) don't have access to a vote slider when we vote. We need to have over 500SP before we get access to it on steemit.com. But it is available on chainbb.com and I think at busy.org. But keep in mind, when you have less than say 100SP, changing your vote strength isn't really worth it at this level of STEEM and SBD (even though they are considerably higher than a month ago or so). At that SP level, a vote is worth so little that you may as well just vote with gleeful abandon and not worry about your Voting Power level. :)

So in short, it's not the most relevant tool for those with very little SP, but as you move into the 100's of SP, it can help you manage your more valuable votes.

Thanks for your comment mate, and good luck on the platform. I've given you a 100% vote at my current VP of 77%. :) (it's still not all that much, unfortunately...)

Aw thanks Revo. I'll use this extension when I've got more power.

Also, thanks for the extra info. I've been holding back on voting for a whole day to regenerate my voting power. If it's not worth it, I may as well get trigger happy again. Yay.

Works. Nice and simple.

When does it update? When it is clicked on? Or does it poll every so often?

It's only polling when you click on it. So minimal data usage.

Thanks for your comment!

That’s a really useful tool! I can check my steem power AND stalk @diabolika!

I need this though, I went on an upvote spree two weeks ago that I’m just finally recovering from.

Hahaha, yes. :) Same thing happened to me in the last week, and I got sick of having to load up one of the steem websites to find out my VP.

Thanks for your comment and I hope you get some use out of it.

I just added this extension and it's extremely helpful. Allows me to check the VP and its worth in an instant!

Guys, check this out. It's a must have!

Cheers, ANSPK!

Did u install it on Chrome or Firefox? Mozilla is going to pull it in a few days because they don't like obfuscated (i.e minimised) code. I've had to include the steem.min.js API in the code, as Google, at least, don't let you link to external libraries in their extensions. So until I either get a copy of an unminified version of steem.js or test if I can include an external library reference in a Firefox extension, the FF extension will get pulled. I'm hoping it will still work if you've installed it prior to that. If not, hang in there, within a week or so hopefully I'll have it sorted.

It was on Chrome, and that time it was still working fine. I hope there's a work around. The extension is really helpful. Easier than going to a site to check the VP.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by revo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.22 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This will be a handy tool! I hope I can install it on my work laptop! It will enable us to fully utilize and monitor our voting power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36