You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: App/feature Request: Filter the New feed

in #steemdev7 years ago

Ah, thanks for that. I know nothing about development, but I see it already there in AutoSteem. Just needs a more manual curation approach.

Of course, I can understand a Search feature will be difficult, but this is just filtering new posts coming in.

Sort:  

In GitHub it is "waiting for microservice" which basically means that they first need to implement something that allows them to filter and query for data, rather than just providing a stream of what the blockchain returns. It can be done, but my understanding is that there are some higher priorities to get done first.

I think the two main reasons for the microservice flag are scaling (Create a "search" service which can be scaled separatly instead of scaling the whole application) and avoiding implementations that have to be refactored later when implementing the microservices. Those reasons are pretty valid from my point of view so #NoOffence.

Beside that I do not see any other valid reasons why this has not been implemented yet, because I guess that the implementation itself should be quite easy. - Do you know some?
Actually I've already scanned the whole blockchain some weeks ago using my Java-API to collect usernames and their IDs - It was done in about 2 days consuming about 2GB of RAM so the resources should not be a problem at all. We also would only need to save the metrics (like number of votes, number of characters, ...) for each post and not the whole content of it - This saves a lot of disk space. Also projects like SteemDB have shown that it is not that hard to scan the blockchain and store the data.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45