Designing My First Full-Stack JavaScript Project in Sketch

in #steemdev7 years ago (edited)

web design with sketch 2.png

For the past week I’ve been learning about the app Sketch and designing my first full-stack Javascript web app. This is definitely the biggest project I’ve worked on so far, and it will be my second of three capstone projects with Thinkful.

Before Sketch, I did some work with Balsamiq, which is an app to quickly make wireframes of a website. This time I drew up some wireframes by hand in a notebook, and then used Sketch to make detailed mock ups of how I’d like my final website to look.

One thing I wasn’t expecting when I started the program at Thinkful was how much I’d enjoy design. I spent a ton of time fiddling with the design of my first capstone project in the HTML/CSS, and I’m glad I’m putting in the time now to design it before I start coding it up.

Design Code


I’ve been learning about using Sketch with Design Code. It has been great so far and I’d recommend it to anyone interested in learning design. The site is a great example of nice design (in my opinion) so this on its own was enough to sell me on trying the book out.

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 2.58.09 PM.9a897f9dea2c472b9506f24a29b0ef36.png

Image Source

It focuses primarily on mobile design, but there are a bunch of general design sections, along with tutorials on using Sketch and learning web design.

Inspiration


I’m really excited with how my design is looking so far. I like websites with stripped down aesthetics and bright pops of color. My main inspiration was the home page for Glitch:

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 3.01.27 PM.3b2915b5c4f443d6bb6adbe8de0566fc.png

Image Source

I also like the clean layout and liberal use of emojis on Nomad List:

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 3.05.05 PM.aa0ff1b247ad42788ddd6c0e275b6c91.png

Image Source

My Site


I’m building a course where anyone can create and enroll in courses for free. After writing my post on what an education platform on STEEM could look like, I realized that maybe I’m closer to being able to build it than I realized. For my capstone, I’m designing a course building site, and then after I’m finished with Thinkful I’m planning on scaling the site up and making it so that courses are published on the STEEM blockchain.

Here’s my first crack at the home page for a user that’s logged in:

index.678f880842f54ca49b1ec6224921502f.png

Someone that hasn’t created an account yet will be met with something like this:

welcome.9faa06ec47d14283986aa32a842678c4.png

Creating a course will look like this:

create.d44dbbed88494cf6ae753584983ed88f.png

And when viewing a course it will look something like this:

course_with_sidebar.cf81d7a02c004d62a808dd3458cd117d.png

I will probably make the sidebar collapsable to eliminate distraction while the student is reading through the material. It will be a modal on mobile or when there isn’t enough room for a sidebar.

What do you think? Any suggestions to improve what I have so far?

Review of Sketch


I’m glad my mentor introduced me to Sketch because it has been really easy to use so far. I thought I might have to take some classes on using Photoshop and bite the bullet on an expensive software license.

Sketch is pretty easy to use if you have experience with other Mac apps like Pages and Keynote. It’s also much cheaper:

  • Sketch: $99 to use forever (includes 1 year of updates)
  • Photoshop: $29.99/month without a contract, $19.99/month with an annual contract, $239.88 for a year paid up front

Screen Shot 2018-01-23 at 3.20.35 PM.8f3a5a01a821477b8afe576966c0fdb0.png

You can tell from the UI that it’s straightforward to use, but I can tell from reading through Design Code that it also has a lot of powerful features I haven’t used yet.

Next Steps


Now that I’ve done a first pass on my design, it’s time to start setting up my actual app. This will be the first time I build anything substantial with Node and MongoDB, so I’m not feeling as confident as I did with my first project. I think this will be a pretty big obstacle to get over though so it’ll be nice to have some experience behind me.

Thanks so much for reading. 🙂 I would love to hear about your experience with design and any advice you have for me in the comments!


follow_jeffbernst.gif

Sort:  

I love this idea! I really look forward to watching your progress. So many people see blockchain as the next way to make money quick, it's exciting to see people finding better potential (social media platform, education platform).

My experience with building new platforms is this: the sooner people can look and try something, even if it's just a simple landing page, the better! Show some mockups, and if people are interested, let them sign up for an email in which you can send progress updates. I've seen way to many amazing projects not get the attention they deserve, from a lack of exposure.

When you get more into coding the logic, let me know if I can contribute or help out :)

Awesome, thank you for the advice and support! I will definitely be posting updates here on Steemit about my progress. I'm feeling a little intimidated by building out this first full-stack project, but excited to get started on it :D

Excellent! As for mongoDB, I recommend you taking a look on mongo atlas. It'll save you several headaches. 😉

Awesome, thanks! In the lessons so far I've been using mLab for my database, but Atlas looks really nice.

Glad to hear you're enjoying the design process, on top of the coding. I like the way the page layout came together! Love the rounded corners.

Thanks! Yeah, it has been fun so far!

That Looks Amazing and you have a great idea.

Yeah, That's true that sketch is more simple than Photoshop. If you design your app or website, because it is specifically for designer (web designer).

Check it out this post as well, It Might be helpful to you!
Web designer Must have skills

Thank you for reading!

My pleasure! keep it up.
Keep sharing you idea with the community of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65