AskSteemit - Getting traction for a potentially useful tag

in #steemdev7 years ago

One of my favourite groups on Reddit is AskReddit. As a whole I found Reddit fairly unpleasant although this did vary by subreddit (ones with good moderators could be okay), but I did like scrolling through the sometimes funny and sometimes informative AskReddit questions. Occasionally I would ask my own questions and often actually got good responses. I would love to see us start to develop a similar space on Steemit.

There are a few challenges:

  • Naming - Asksteem is not good as there is already the asksteem.com search engine and an unrelated @asksteem user account (which tried to do something similar but seems to have been abandoned). It seems like an #asksteemit tag would be the best. This leads to issue two though ...
  • I have written previously the lack of standardised tags and filters which mean it can be hard to see questions coming through, particularly if you aren't following a person (although I find that I often miss posts of those I follow too).
  • Lack of awareness - this is where you come in. Start using the #asksteemit tag and resteem this post. Maybe we can make this a tag that outdoes askreddit (we already have the good sense of community).

What do you think? Would you like to see an #asksteemit tag/space (and is #asksteemit the best tag to use)?

Sort:  

this is a great idea #asksteemit

Upped and Resteemed! Great idea @datascience. :)

Is there an #ELI5 (explain like I'm 5) tag? I love that sub!

No but that would be another good one.

It seems like a logical thing to do, but aren't there already many other tags close to it? Like you stated, asksteem, steemhelp, etc?

There are. That's where some standardised tags would be helpful. Asksteemit would be for random questions like askkreddit though rather than site help like steemhelp (which also has steem-help and steemit-help)

I think this is something that could be started on chainBB maybe? I can't imagine people doing posts about "stupid" questions. (I know no questions are stupid, but I hope you get the point. I think it would just mean more spam post.)?

That is true, it could generate more spam. I'm still keen for better filtering of the feed to combat spam on steemit. I hadn't seen chainbb before. Thanks for sharing that 😃

It's steemit based forums. You can make a post via chainBB, which will also be seen from your profile as a post or you can just post in some thread, which will be seen under your comments, if you answer there.

I would like to see something like this happen too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72