Learn to Code. Everything Else Can Come Later...

in #steemdev6 years ago (edited)

goran-ivos-343495-unsplash.jpg

Introduction

Yesterday I accomplished my first milestone on my way to become a professional front-end developer by completing the first course out of 6 at FreeCodeCamp.

screenshot-newtab-2018.06.14-17-31-35.png

I already knew a bit about html and css but I learned quite a few new tricks that I'll be able to use moving forward. Next one that I want to complete is the "Javascript Algorithms And Data Structures Certification" which should take me around 300 hours to complete.

It's Never Too Late

It's never too late to learn to code. Check out the answer I found on quora when someone asked if it was too late to learn how to code: (I paraphrase but you can check out the full answer here

No, it’s never, ever too late. I’m writing this answer because so many other replies, especially from “career programmers”, just have no clue.
After spending 20 years in a sales, marketing and business strategy career, I started programming a few months before my 39th birthday (the reason is an entirely unrelated story). I’m now 42, so that was about 3 1/2 years ago.
I taught myself to program by reading code, code documentation, and code comments on GitHub. After I learned the basics I started reading books to deepen my knowledge. But what helped me learn quickly was this: I tried to find existing code projects that seemed really interesting, so that I could find something to aspire to. I then started looking for “code challenges” that I could do, with a goal of accomplishing one challenge a day (when feasible).

[...]

As of today, I have published 1,200 open source code projects, most of which were created in one day, or within a couple of hours. This is me jonschlinkert (Jon Schlinkert):

My projects have been downloaded ~3 billion times in the past 18 months
My projects are downloaded nearly 300 million times a month (check for yourself: Stats for jonschlinkert)
Downloads have increased an average of 15–20% per month for the past 18–22 months (sometimes less, sometimes more)
65 of my projects are downloaded more than 1 million times a month each
My code is used by NASA, Google, Facebook, Microsoft, Apple, and tens of thousands of other companies.
In the spirit of encouraging anyone who is hesitant to start programming because of age, I am contacted by recruiters daily, and have received offers from dozens of Fortune 500 companies this year (career-wise, it turns out that focusing on open-source is a great way to get yourself known).
Don’t listen to doubters, and don’t overcomplicate this decision. Just ask yourself if you think you’ll enjoy it (once you get past the basics). Join GitHub, browse for projects that seem interesting, and start writing some code!

My Coding Regime

Coding Everyday

I figured that if I ever want to get somewhere with coding that I had to code everyday. I'm currently trying to fit 2hrs a day, 7 days a week. It's been 3 weeks and I've already seen my learning curve increasing.

Mentorship

Once a week I sit down with my friend and he guides me through the steps to understand the Steem Blockchain development environment. I have yet to conceptualize how the pieces fit together but everytime we meet, something clicks and make more sense than the week before.

Stick-To-It-Tivess

Consistency is key, in the beginning, it's really easy to lose what you've learned. I feel that there is a tipping point where the basic foundation will be solid enough that I won't fear to lose all that's I've learned by slacking off for a week.

Why

Get ready for the world of tomorrow...

Learn to Code! Everything Else Can Come Later!

Photo by Goran Ivos on Unsplash

Sort:  

I have a similar schedule. I have worked through many free sites but have not had the break through moment yet. Currently trying to learn more basics from EDx Course but I also strive to check out freeCodeCamp.

The main problem for me is starting to implement the fundamentals into actual programs. I think I will have to create a github account this weekend and start creating really basic stuff to push myself over the edge.

Good luck on your progress.

Congratulations. Coding is like art. If there is one recommendation I would make from the profession I was in a decade ago it would be "Always intialize a variable and always reset it." That one lesson will save you hours of debugging time when problems do not make sense.

You are absolutely right it is never too late to learn.
I always liked to work with html format with my website but learning javascript would be great to learn how to code would be luxury feeding our brain with something new helps us to improve and we could help improve steemit with new applications.

So true ! If you want to learn something bad enough, you just have to freakin do it!

Right now I am studying Spanish! I remind my self, a little a day will go a long way!!😉👍

I jsut graduated with my bachelors and now I think it’s time to get started , anywhere specific I should start ? I’m eager to learn and I believe it could come in handy

"Get ready for the world of tomorrow..."
Damn right!
Good Luck, you won't regret it!
I'm a self-taught Freelance Developer & Designer following a career change from a Domestic Electrician. It started as a curiosity on how video games were made and it went from there. After discovering the creative freedom programming and design brings, along with the impact digital technology has on the world, I wouldn't turn back. Even if I do spend more time debugging than I care to admit 😂

It was really nice to code... I already forgot those html and php because there already made modules already coded. I only use some of the basic coding. It’s great you are learning it. Its great to see people know the code. Keep it up Sir!

hello @cryptoctopus ! Yeah ! I would love to learn to code ! I work as an artist and I really see some relations between those kind of creations !
I wish great success in your(s) project(s) !
have an awesome day !

Happy to see you completing your ist milestone of coding..
Coding is not easy to learn but when we have a motivation in doing something we can do it..
As the world is becoming much dependent of computer science which coding is becoming more important..
Therefore learn coding before it is too late..

Congratulations on taking steps to learn to code. I've been doing web development for just over 12 years and it is a very fun and rewarding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16