You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Using Intel Optane for STEEM blockchain seed node

in #steemdev6 years ago

I have heard about Intel Optane a lot also I tested the Boot Time of a system, its really fast. The test was good and nicely documented, but considering 7 hours is still a lot of time (though a very less compared to the SSDs), what are the options we still have to reduce it further.

I would like to see a witness-server running on Optane Memory, to see how it goes. If the tests are successful, then I guess every blockchain project should use Optane, what you think?

Sort:  

I am aware of @anyx ‘s setup and the read performance from optane , ie rocksdb is on optane is what made me explore this in detail. I have doubts whether we should be keeping the rocksdb on Optane or not. May be we should keep block_log and index on optane and rocksdb in SSD.

Yea, Optane is really fast!

I would like to see a witness-server running on Optane Memory, to see how it goes. If the tests are successful, then I guess every blockchain project should use Optane, what you think?

IMHO we need to do extensive tests before deciding. For example for the full node we need a lot more testing as the RocksDB performance looks little weird to me as per the results here : http://www.lmdb.tech/bench/optanessd/ So in the case of witness nodes also, there may be surprises that we have to test extensively. But I feel if we test for STEEM, it can be generalized for other Graphene based blockchains too.

I have requested for access from Packet + Intel & if we can get some hardware, extensive tests can be done. I think we will have to do

  1. Tests with witness and run extensive tests
  2. Tests in the fullRPC node and benchmark the RocksDB storage (engine)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84