steemd - Service interuptionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemdev7 years ago

2017-06-26 03_25_13-OneNote.gif

The past 48 hours I see steemd more than half the time give the above error at the top of its screen: Warning: Service interruption -- head block age: Xh

I think steemd is fantastic it is the single best tool to get an understanding of the STEEMiverse. It translates all blockchain data in understandable chunk, so it becomes information you can learn from. So this is not a complaint, but merely a question to better understand.

I assume that the steemd.com instance has problem reading from some servers. What I find stramge however dont have the same problem. How is that possible.

Any further insight would be greatly appreciated and please keep up the fantastic work on steemd.

Sort:  

It's possible the server running the blockchain that steemd.com connects to either forked or went offline.

There's a lot of different servers running the chain - some of which can go down while others remain online. Hope that helps :)

Jesta, makes sense. However I would imagine that a server like Steemd is connected to multiple blok chain servers, I assume the same way that witness servers are.

Btw I am honored to get a reaction from you. I am a enormous admirer of all the great tech work you and a nummer of other people inject into this platform.

Hah, well thank you. I try my best to be active in the #steem-dev and #steemdev tags. We are in desperate need of more developers - not a week goes by when someone asks me "do you know someone who could do this or do you have the time?"

I think steemit.com at this point is the only site powered by multiple blockchain servers. Witnesses do run multiple, but those aren't publicly accessible. I run 3 servers: one for steemdb.com, one for chainbb.com, and one publicly available through node.steem.ws. It's very likely that steemd also only has one server, but I could be wrong!

They get expensive really quick. The full API servers right now take up about 50gb of RAM (for maximum performance).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77