You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SpitBalling - Whale Abuse

in #steemdev7 years ago

I agree with you partially @creatovert. You make very interesting points with the 7 day payout window.

I don't believe it will hinder people though. The hard cap as being a percentage of the reward pool. I don't see a valid reason for one person to make such an extreme amount of the rewards in the future when more and more people use the platform, hopefully flattening the overall average percentage some people get.

Any content creater that thinks they deserve 1% of the weekly pool which I believe is quite a large number for payouts. Possibly over 500k? $8 a piece for 5k Steem... $40k. In a week. That seems excessive to demand to keep getting that much.

(I have no idea if the above numbers are even close to being accurate. I know that the reward pool is at ~700k Steem. I just don't know how much is paid out and then added back into it each week.)

While I know that some YouTubers probably make close to that, their % of overall payouts I doubt is close to 1% of all the payouts from YouTube to it's content creaters.

What do you think? Still not an okay idea? I don't think it's the answer. Just trying to work through possibilities.

Thanks for your thoughts @creatovert.

Sort:  

I agree with you totally in my own personal point of view... 1% share is quite a big slice!
And I know you're referring to Haejin.

His content seems to be low-effort posts to me too and it's clear that he's maximizing his rewards by posting countless times a day... with each post accounting for more than 300$

But I have never seen anyone other than him getting that much rewards.
Not even 0.5% .
I saw a guy here a week ago who had created a fictional story of Elon Musk I think... it had a pending payout of 1100$ . I did a quick glance of the post and it was a quite long, well formatted and nicely written blog post. He had put a lot of effort on it and I would say he deserved it...

If he were to post 1 post each day, each accumulating an average of about 1500$, who are we to put a cap on his rewards?
I make very little on my posts so I too feel uneasy when a single user takes a large share of rewards but I think if the content creators haven't abused the system in any way, then they deserve all the value their content receives from the community! Afterall it's the community itself who tipped the content.

I attended a meeting today in Mspwaves radio and witnesses were having a discussion about the same thing. Maybe they would have loved this idea.
But I'm more of a freedom lover you know. I think decentralized platforms will lose their value if we add strict rules like the centralized systems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58