Steemify Beta released! - Little time to relaxsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemdev7 years ago

So where do I even begin? Last two months were quite intense and now I'm so happy that we are finally able to Beta Steemify publicly. Feel free to drop us an e-mail at [email protected] to get an invitation to join the Beta program!

To my girlfriend's despise, I have been coding almost every evening to get Steemify up and running. To start with, I didn't know anything about the Steem blockchain, I didn't know anything about Swift (the main programming language for iOS), I only knew how to program in general (with professional experience in PHP, Python and C, I must add). Anyways, I enjoyed every single bit of it (well, mostly). I'm still a n00b Swift programmer, but I'm getting there. I'm quite content with how the back-end is set-up (all done in Python), and I believe I can easily re-use most of the code for future projects. I also learned a lot about the Steem blockchain's inner workings.

While people are beta-testing Steemify, I'm taking some time to work on a project together with @jonny-clearwater which I believe is also going to be great. In the meantime, we (@blockbrothers), will be making plans for future applications. We've already cooked up some awesome ideas.

Follow me @bennierex

Sort:  

Thanks you so much for what you do!!! Much appreciated.

@bennierex It is people like you and @exyle that make for a STEEMIT that will attract even more to come and be a part of what we already enjoy. Thank You Man !!!

Thanks man!

absolutely agree, making really useful apps to speed us through our days.

i want to work with you at some point as well, just so you know ;)

Awesome!
I need more hours in a day it seems 😅

you and me both brother :)

Good luck with your new projects!!
Steemify still working perfectly!

Thanks, that’s great to hear!

Excellent Post!

hi, i go try this and good luck !!

Any plans for an android app?

It’s on our wishlist, but we focus first on perfecting the iOS version before diving into other frontends

It's devs like you who keep the platform interesting and inspire devs like me!...

Thanks! Just keep working on things you’d like to use yourself as well

Did you ever look into using something like phonegap? I've just ported my app over to mobile and it's just a matter of making the most minor changes to bog standard html/css/js. While it's great in that it's incredibly simple to do, you do cede some control to the blackbox of whatever settings the Apache people chose. I'm having troubles getting it to consistently notify the user with any sort of alert (vibrate/beep/note tray). It's just a case of throwing enough beta/poorly-documented plugins at it until something sticks.. ;)

Well, yes, we did look into a solution like that. But like you said, the problem is getting reliable notifications, amongst others. You can sometimes get around that by using a 3rd party notifications provider, like OneSignal or Pushbullet, but those charge a fee for every notification sent. And that's assuming they've got a proper plugin for the platform you're using.
I think our solution is reliable (still needs a bit of work, but that's just server-side) and without reliable notifications an app like ours is next to useless.

Congratulations @bennierex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44