Introducing Another Steemit Mentions Site - Stream And Filter Mentions in Real Time

in #steemdev7 years ago (edited)

Here's a little something (https://flairr.co.za/steemitmentions/) I slapped together in the past week. It probably shouldn't've taken me that long to make this but I reached a point during development where I realized that what I've built up until then was complete shit and that I should start over so I scrapped everything and started clean.

screen1.png

After seeing similar sites and tools such as @furion 's tool and @blueorgy 's tool I decided to try and create my own as a little educational project. So how does it work? Well my project can be broken up into 2 parts:

Part 1 : The Python Blockchain Streamer

This is a little Python script I wrote using the Steem-Python and Pyrebase libraries to stream and filter the blockchain for any new mentions. The program takes all the mentions it finds and pushes them to my Firebase database. I decided to use Google's Firebase for this since Firebase offers a nice free real-time database with some pretty sweet functionality to monitor your real-time data. Currently the database only stores the latest 8 mentions. As new ones are added, the old ones are removed to prevent the database from retarding.

Part 2 : The Actual Site

Here's the part that you get to see and use after clicking on "View Mentions" on the home screen:

screen2.png

All the real-time mentions get pulled from the Firebase database as they are added and are neatly displayed in an automatic slider for you to see. Here you can filter new mentions by username so if you'd only like to see new mentions for benniebanana, aggroed and furion then you can add them in there like in the above picture. You can also filter for bots so if you know some pesky bots you can add their usernames and skip their mentions. You can also turn on a notification sound for new mentions if you want.

screen-record-2.gif
4K quality GIF with a little glitch

Some Minor Issues

  • Minor mobile scaling issue with home screen and sound

  • Auto scroll on the page can be a bit of a bitch, I haven't invested any time in fixing it

  • The timestamps on the mentions need to be fixed

  • Mentions may have minor delays

  • Format of mentions need to be fixed.

  • My logic for the filters might be a little flawed but all the tests I've done so far have been successful.

Some Things That Work

  • All links to posts work. All of the links I've tried from random posts have worked.

Some Future Ideas

This is still a work in progress and I've thought about adding some extra functionality depending on the feedback I get and what you guys/girls think. Here's one idea:

  • Allow users to register their Steemit username and have the site store any past and present mentions, starting at the tiem if registration, for them to view at any time. For free obviously.

When I started this project I stored every single mention I got on the blockchain in my Firebase database. Within a few hours I had mentions stored for about 2.5K individual Steemit users. It goes without saying that my database took a little knock from this so instead of storing every single mention I thought I'd allow users to register and only store registered users mentions.

Feel free to go check out my site HERE. Let me know what you think and if you'd like to see some added functionality and let me know of any bugs you find. For those who are interested, let me now if you'd like to see this on GitHub. I'm aware that this site is nothing revolutionary, It's just a little personal project I'd like to expand on if there's the opportunity.


On a side note, I've recently become a contributor on Steem Docs thanks to @sarasate . If you'd like to see some of the awesome stuff built and busy being built on the Steemit network you should definitely go have a look. I have some beginner Python tutorials for developing on the Steemit network under the Python section for those who are interested.


Enjoy and thanks for the support

Sort:  

Well done again! Great to see all these resources being developed. And even better that you are writing now for Steem Docs. Feels like we are just getting the foundations in place for what is going to be grand!

Thanks for the feedback and support. Some grand things are definitely on the way :)

Upvoted and Resteemed by the xx_Votes_Plus curation trail! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or fund @dropahead with more STEEM POWER! Keep steeming!

great job on the personal project to help out the community! resteemed.

Thanks, appreciated

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BennieBanana from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79