Why I Registered The FUTURE Token On Steem Engine

in #steemdev5 years ago (edited)

Recently, the Drug Wars team announced a controversial change to the game, Steem rewards were being removed and instead replaced with a custom token called FUTURE. Now, when I saw this announcement I immediately assumed it was going to use @steem-eng (Steem Engine) which is a highly capable and functional Steem sidechain with support for contracts.

So you can imagine my surprise when I saw that the FUTURE Token was not on Steem. In the SaneSteemChat Discord, I actually raised this weird anomaly. It didn't take long for the conversation to become jokey and the idea for registering the FUTURE Token as a joke and then airdropping it to players was born.

If there is one thing you should know about me, I am a serial prankster and have a weird sense of humour. I have been known to go to great lengths to pull a prank or joke. So, I spent 100 ENG and registered FUTURE. The token is on the Steem Engine dex here.

I want you to know that I did hesitate for a brief moment, but the allure of a funny prank pulled me in and I flexed my ENG token like a Steem gangster. In hindsight, it was a waste of money for a joke. Doing it over again, I probably wouldn't have wasted my own money doing it. And while many saw the funny side to registering it. However, some did not see the funny side at all.

Naturally, a small minority of the community has turned sour and doesn't see the funny side to a harmless joke at all. I was actually accused earlier today of being a scammer, and that really got me fired up Because if there is one thing I do not tolerate, it's people who lie and libel others.

I am not selling FUTURE

This is the strongest point I want to make, I never once charged money for this useless token to anyone. I never once asked anyone to buy anything.

What actually happened is I started airdropping it to people who play Drug Wars, even bad boy @hightouch got airdropped some tokens. I sent @berniesanders like 3000 of them.

There is a good chance I probably airdropped you some of those tokens. If you're in the top 15 or so on Drug Wars you definitely got some FUTURE tokens. Ask around, a lot of people got airdropped free tokens and they didn't have to pay a cent for them.

And yes, if you go and see the Future market page on Steem Engine, you'll see quite a few selling listings from other users who have been airdropped.

But, the point I want to stress here is I didn't even advertise the token. I never told people to buy it or go and trade it. I thought it would be funny if I just randomly airdropped tokens with no explanation and see how people react.

In fact, if you want FUTURE tokens for yourself, maybe to test bots and whatnot, let me know and I'll airdrop you a fat pile of them, for a few thousand Steem... Just kidding. If you what FUTURE tokens, they are free. Seriously.

I bought my own joke tokens...

Want to know something else funny? I actually have gone onto the dex and purchased FUTURE being sold by other users with my own Steem. This is how far I have taken the joke.

I've been spending my own Steem to buy tokens that I could just issue myself for free. Because I wanted to bump it up the listings on the dex and because I wanted other people to make some money further fuelling the joke.

What kind of scammer am I where I am willing to spend 100 ENG on a token and then spend more of my own Steem to buy the tokens from other users that I airdropped? A pretty shitty one.

When you open up the token info screen it shows you right there my username as the issuer. If I really wanted to scam people, why would I use my main Steem account to do it? Wouldn't I have been better off creating a new account and calling myself something similar to hightouch or equivalent to deceive people?

In fact, if you were unfortunate to buy tokens off the exchange from someone else thinking they were affiliated with Drug Wars (which nobody did as far as I can see), I'll refund you the Steem (with proof, of course). Oh, damn, there I go again. I really fucking suck at scamming don't I?

TL;DR

FUTURE on Steem Engine is a bad joke and if anyone got scammed, it was me for spending real money on this just to troll a few people and get five minutes of laughter.

Stop the false accusations. I love this place and unlike the real scammers out there running Ponzi schemes disguised as games, I would never hurt Steem. I love this blockchain and I have worked so incredibly hard to make friends and get somewhere here.

Sort:  

!dramatoken


Here's your DRAMA. Don't spend it all in one place!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

Drama token is looking like It's going to be a hot commodity...

Posted using Partiko Android

It definitely is...

Dude! I’ve been wondering who registered this token all day. Shoot me some free FUTURE! I want to send some to @hightouch to tell him how shitty his tokens are. The tokens that he didn’t register before announcing them. The tokens that replace the Steem that @drugwars is meant to be built around.

Brilliant prank mate. I fucking love it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If I shit talk their stupidity can I get some more? :P I'm totally selling them for outrageous amounts. If I'm gonna own a coin that's worthless, I'm selling it for big bucks, so I can buy more crypto. XD

The instant I saw them, I thought either DW was testing out the coin, or someone created them as a joke because DW are fucking idiots.

That's not to say that launching your own coin, even just as a funding mechanism is a bad idea. Just...well...they can't do anything right. There are a number of ways to do that, then add value to the coin. I doubt they even have a clue how to do that. Likely after it's launch they'll have people point out how there's no reason for people to buy the future coins because they can just buy upgrades in Steem, so then they'll somehow come up with the dumbest solution possible, that wouldn't even be conceivable to us mortal men.

Why don't you create a bot to reward people with Future or something? I know it's a joke...but you can take it a lot farther.

You should have created an alt to make the coin though...to further the joke. Unfortunately though, with a name like hightouch, the only joke names I can come up with are highly inappropriate...

The future is yours @geekpowered when I get back on the computer, I am going to make you a FUTURE whale here on Steem. Future rich beyond your wildest dreams.

The bot is actually a great idea, I could just look for json operations whenever someone does something in Drug Wars and send them FUTURE automatically, haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's probably less controversial than my idea of detecting negativity and giving them out randomly to people bitching about DrugWars. XD There are a few libraries to do things like that.

Drama currently does a pretty basic call that requires 10 Drama to do and airdrops to you both for pointing out Drama. You could probably do similar, with a few different commands.

Too bad they hide pretty much everything on drugwars now, so you can't do commands based on that.

You could do a bot that does a randomized attack and then drops a coin to the winner though, maybe based on a few different things in their account. Maybe to really screw it up, based on SteemMonsters cards they own.

There's a lot of different stuff you could do. Even just drop it to people that lose battles and post it. XD

I've been thoroughly enjoying your musings on DW🤗.. Eh a hightouch is better than a bad touch, I 🤔 think? More drama !

Posted using Partiko Android

That awkward moment when you smoke too much and you start rubbing your friends leg...but you're not gay. #hightouch

I'm so glad you did this. Great joke. Take that "failed comedian" part of your bio away.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha... that's a nice joke... if you have time just send me 1 FUTURE token :-)
I will try to exchange it with Bernie's SH!T token, LOL

Mate, you're going to get 1000 FUTURE tokens very shortly. The future is yours 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh thanks a lot!!!!
We will have a bright bright future!!!
Big Plastic Hug
Steemitri The Mannequin

Hahahahahahahaha I guess I need that token more than ever after realizing it wasn't for Drugwars. Re-steemed, hope that enough for me to bribe you for some FUTURE.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're on your way to becoming a FUTURE whale, check your wallet my rich friend ;)

It's probably about as useless as the other FUTURE token will be lol!

Thank you for giving me a future.
Without you I would not have a future.

:D

If it weren't for you, somebody else would have done it, since they never intended to launch it on steem-engine in the first place.
But still. Why didn't they at least try to reserve it... because... you know. Trolls on the internet.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ill like some to test bots. I'm using TROLL for now, but once my supply of that is done, imma need more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48