Top 10 - Things I want to do differently to my children than my own parents

in #steemdad7 years ago

Top 10 - Things I want to do differently to my children than my own parents

Of course, years later, one looks at one's own upbringing differently than during one's own childhood. As a child or teenager, parents are too strict, prohibit too much, have no idea what's important in the world, and make life difficult for no reason. The review as an adult is already milder.

top10-vaterfreuden.jpg

Especially if you are a father yourself, many decisions of your own parents can be better understood. You can empathize with fears and worries and protect the child from his urge for more freedom. However, there are things that one would like to do differently in the education of one's own children, as one's own parents did. Here our top 10.

10 The plate does not have to be eaten - and it's okay not to like certain foods.

9 More great weekend activities.

8 No criticism of the music taste of the kids - even if it is difficult.

7 Holiday trips not only to German-speaking countries, because that is easier and more familiar.

6 No strict rejection of the purchase of branded goods. That puts children under great pressure that is not necessary.

5 Better "let go" than your own parents.

4 No strict ban on sweets or fast foods - because that always leads to the opposite.

3 Do not compare with other children with the sentence: "This is not a yardstick for us".

2 Give children self-confidence and opportunities, instead of seeing dangers everywhere.

1 I want to be a much cooler dad than my own.

footer.gif

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

That's a great thing to strive for and I'm sure you can do it!

Every now and then - when I talk with people about our parents - we conclude that we are all trying to become better people than our parents/ better parents than our parents were to us. As we can learn from their mistakes and see things we like and don't like about them.

Even though I'm not a father yet and I like my father, I aim to become a better father (if I ever get so lucky to become one) myself.

Nice post, mein Freund!

Yes! Yes! Yes! But my dad is pretty cool so I have high standards to live up to

This is an inspiring and awesome write up, especially to new dad like us... I will definitely make use of this piece...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82