"Dad, I need a moped" - How to deal with large children's wishes

in #steemdad7 years ago

"Dad, I need a moped" - How to deal with large children's wishes

The older children become, the more they orient themselves to the outside world. Friends, TV, advertising, and the Internet create desires that are often too big for parents to simply - or want to - fulfill their child. The children have to be brought on board and have their own thoughts on how big wishes can be financed.

download.jpg

©pixaby

Do not hesitate to include your child not only in the considerations, but also in the specific financing, because this has several positive aspects: Your child will appreciate the expensive purchase much more if it has done something for itself. At the same time, it learns that things have value and that you have to work to fulfill your wishes.

Gifts of money - when do they make sense?

If a child wants something extra expensive, such as a moped or a new computer, it is often common for parents and grandparents to co-finance the purchase of money for Christmas or birthday.

However, money as a gift for children at the earliest from the primary school sense. Toddlers - who usually do not have such expensive wishes - can not do anything with money, they have no relation to it. However, instead of a large gift, a smaller one can be bought and a certain amount of money is deposited in an account for the fulfillment of later wishes.

Basically, also applies to older children and teenagers: Larger gifts of money belong on the account and not in the purse. Especially when an expensive wish is to be realized, your child learns saving at the same time.

What can the child contribute financially?

If a child has a large desire - and meaningful in the eyes of the parents - they will and should usually pay part of the cost. For the remaining amount should be considered together with the child where it comes from. One source is the money already saved by the child, and relatives may still be asked for help. In addition, the child can also earn some money for it. This is pedagogically meaningful and conveys a feeling for the value of the money and later also the purchase. Depending on the age of the child, either activities for parents, friends and relatives are possible or the child accepts his first paid part-time job . In the circle of acquaintances and relatives, activities such as picking up leaves, turning the streets, shopping or similar smaller activities can be done. Paid jobs for teenagers can be: advertising, babysitting or mowing the lawn. It is important for every kind of secondary occupation that school and recreation are not neglected.

Parents as lenders

If you are in a hurry to buy, but the money is not yet complete, you can give your child a loan. For this to work smoothly, there must be clear agreements - which are actually best written down - when and how will the amount be repaid? This is the crucial question that you need to answer with your child. You can arrange different options for repayment. Either, the child pays back the amount by making the necessary money with a part-time job. Alternatively, you can withhold part of the pocket money or have the loan "processed". Amounts are set for special assistance in the household. For example, if your child washes your car, a set amount will be deducted from the debt account. If you make such an agreement with your child, you should comply with these and the agreed rules. Only then will your child learn about the binding nature of agreements and contracts.

It is good to fulfill your children's wishes. Taking them financially involved in larger purchases has a pedagogically very valuable aspect and additionally relieves the parents' finances.

footer.gif

Sort:  

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

My parents were very much dependent on me obtaining my own money very young. At 10yrs old I was already known in the neighborhood for being a great babysitter, raking leaves and surprising for my size I pushed a lawnmower. By doing so I was always financially independent, even though I live as simply as I can on very little this is one of the few things I can actually thank my parents for doing right.

Very lovely post man,it is info packed. Keep it up

Very good advice!! Great post😊

Being the poor viking that I am, I still borrow money from my parents and pay them back as if they were a bank lol

My family use to ask me for money and I'd give it no questions asked. Then they wonder why I'm still poor. It was also the same for me but I stopped when I noticed the pattern was there. I think there's nothing wrong with family leaning on each other but with no expectations and not putting the other in debt.

No doubt, but at some point you need to give back something lol. I prefer the loan method, keeps me honest.

Good job papa Hoschi! Teach them while they still listen.

Great post mate, every day life teaches I lesson, by reading this post I got my lesson for today keep up the good work

You re really welcome...

thx for this nice Feedback...

Hope to get some german lessons from you

if there any questions you know where you can catch me up to help :)

Very wise advice.. And pretty much how I handled my children when they had expensive wishes. I was not the kind of parent to just go out and bankroll a gift that I couldn't afford. My children are now very responsible with their own finances, I taught them how to be very careful with what they had into work hard for it. Excellent article!

A lot of parental advice here. Awesome. I need it in 6 years of time.

I remember the time when there were financial crises at my home and I wanted a laptop for myself. This scene never fades from my memories, cause I thought they don't want to fulfil my wishes and I was angry. But as I have grown old these memories have started troubling me, how on the earth I wasn't able to understand the circumstances and why I used to blame and complain about them. But again I was a kid then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71