How I grew up with the stigma of being skinny.steemCreated with Sketch.

gettyimages-143922546-612x612.jpg

I had always been a bright child since my childhood till now I am still a bright child and will always be a bright child. Being skinny had always made me sick as at when I was little and had a lot of effect with me.
I don't know if it's only in Africa that see skinny girls as bone with no flesh but in my own view Africa especially Nigeria don't appreciate skinny girls just a few which is disheartening.
Growing up was a dream I believe I will never achieve during my childhood. My extended relatives who lived with me back then was a pain in my neck. They always complained that I look too skinny and abuses me that I am ugly. My younger siblings too were skinny even up till now we are slim not that skinny again. My parents never had an issue with it only my relatives that did had an issue with it. They complained to the point that my uncle wife who stayed with us had too over feed us even when we were filled up but nothing to show for and it got her frustrated 😂. I was a little girl who had no issue with the world because I believe the world was a Barbie world😪.
I won't say I had low self-esteem when my relatives complained because we had our mum as our back bone who defended her children and my father was a busy person. My nightmare started when the society started attacking me of being skinny. Some even went to the point of asking me if I wanted to be a model but hell no I never wanted to be one as at then. I always wanted to be a doctor when I was a kid because I was a maths wizard. Some felt I don't eat a lot because I wanted to be slim but that was just how we were. I and my siblings only ate a lot when we were hungry 😒 and that was on rare occasions. The more I slept the more taller I grew😂.
If you are fat people will talk,if you are skinny even slim people will still talk. I was just tired of everything. You hear some people saying its good to have normal body stature and which one is normal or abnormal. Mtchww!!!
The funny memories I kept till now was when my mum took me and my siblings to her friends place. It's annoying 😡 anytime I remember and funny 😂 too. My mum friend almost killed us with food to the extent that she kept us giving us more until she gets satisfied that we had eaten to her. When we complained that we were okay she will give us a daring look and tell us to finish the food but trust me and siblings we played our devil game. When she is not looking we threw the food away and use other heaps in the bin to cover it or we keep it in a black nylon and throw it later. My mum's friend hated seeing our neck bone and I got tired of doing holiday in her house. The only part I love back then was the junk food🤩 and I forgot 😒 her food was pepperish. No matter how hard she tried we never added a flesh.
The society don't like skinny girls nor obese just few which is annoying. Please note that being skinny is different from being slim.
My self confidence started diminishing with this stigma during my teens. In secondary school back then, everyone was growing rapidly especially the girls. They were now wearing big bra 😂 and having hips but I was still skinny. I never appreciated my body stature because I wanted to have flesh. I didn't even have much friends because they felt I was a sickler. Some said I looked like all these white girls and I felt most people hated most white girls because of their skinny nature. I remembered when I wore like two bras at ago just to feel among but I was still skinny and anytime anyone want to abuse me the first thing they start with is that I was too skinny which made me cry while at times I don't cry.
It was just few that appreciated my body stature in the society. Some called me Agbani Dorego but i never allowed it enter my head. My childhood friends were all adding flesh but I never did . Sometimes, I even asked God why he created me and I felt God never likes me or other skinny girls because bullying too was at high rate.
When I met other skinny girls just like me I felt their pain too back then. Unlike now that people are now appreciating skinny girls but not all and they believe the person is keeping shape or wants to be a model or he or she is a model.Puff🤧!!!
As I started getting matured in mind,I realised that everything God created was beautiful irrespective of the bodyshape, color,height etc. I started appreciating myself and my self confidence came back at it's peak. I realised to always be yourself so I stopped over feeding myself, I took personal care of my body and never compared myself to anyone. I realised that everyone will always have one or two things to say about you no matter your looks even character. Not everyone will love you so I stopped allowing people opinion about my body shape get to me and even those who bullied me back then knew I got stronger and bold. Thanks to them.
No matter your body shape fat or slim or skinny don't change because of what people are saying. You are beautiful in the sight of God and appreciate your own beauty and body. Those who still body shame other people also have something they are ashamed in their body.
@steemcurator01.
@steemcurator02.
@steemcurator03.
@focusnow.

Sort:  

My goodness.. This post is emotional, funny and interesting.. I love this inspiration dear.. God bless you for reminding us that everything God created is good and unique and the moat important thing is that we are beautiful before God.

I really appreciate sir @godsbest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49