You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Birding 📷 127 - Impromptu Contest!

Yo Katy. I see 30 young geese, but others may be deliberately hiding - you know how those young'ns are.
One of my favorites in the yard are black phoebes. They're like little fighter pilots, chasing down tiny bugs in the air. When they get one, you can hear a snap as their beaks shut on their prey. At one point, years ago, I thought I'd name each bird as they came into our yard. You know, getting to know every individual. So I called the first black phoebe I saw, Jackson. Now, I just say hello to them all as Jackson. You know, like, "Hi Jackson." Very bonding. :-))
Wonderful to get a picture of that hoard of geese. Beautiful picture! Thanks.

Sort:  

That's funny! I will remember this story on my birding adventures! :) I think Jackson is a great name for such a spitfire bird. Flycatchers are just adorable. There are a few species here that nest in the camp we visit in the summer and will nest in the rafters of the pavilions. I'm hopeful that I will be able to share photos later on. :)

Looking forward to the pictures from the camp. How's the belly doing?

Tiring, but seemingly good. :)

Marrianne and I are very excited for you. Be sure to get a room with a window, so you can take bird pictures.
I don't know what your connections are in SLC yet, but I do have a daughter and a son living in the city if you need anything. They are great people.
I did a bird post today with red wing blackbirds. I gotta get a better camera. :-))

I appreciate it! I've already prepped some posts in advance so I don't have to worry so much for the first week or so. We have a lot of family coming in for around a month and a half. I'm excited to see them and for them to meet baby.

Excellent! Good luck to y'all! :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60608.46
ETH 2637.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62