You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Importance of Citation

in #steemcleaners5 years ago

Hi there, I think this post is good overall, and I do believe it's important to avoid plagiarism. Nonetheless, I have some questions about some of the stuff I feel like I need clarification on.

First, I'd like to ask about photo collages and edits. I like to do this cause it either looks cool and/or for comedy and entertainment purposes. Lots of times like to make new images, by editing together images I find online, and sometimes I might also edit the colors and/or use some pictures that are my own. Wouldn't this qualify as fair use? If you want, I could always show you some examples. On a similar note, what about with music mashups?

Also, I'd like to ask for some clarification on the Translation thing. Cause when I think of a good translation I'm thinking of something that should be as faithful literally to the original language, while also conveying the meaning properly in the language you translate into. You want with a good translation for it to be the "same" for a lack of better word I could think of at the moment. I'm asking, cause I'm learning Japanese, and Spanish. While I'm not capable of translation on this caliber yet, people lots of times translate Japanese music that they share online on places like YouTube. And I believe when done with the right intent giving credit to the artists, and sharing the music that it encourages more people to buy. I know I got into Touhou Doujin music, cause people uploaded music from bands and gave them credit on their third party channels. I personally would like to help with this in the future to help share good music that I believe deserve more sales.

I hope these questions and thoughts make sense.
Thanks for your time!

Have a good one,
Timoteo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48