You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Game of Tags

in #steemcleaners6 years ago

Thanks for a great article... I'm new to Steemit, and I'll admit my initial thought was "Instagram-Style #tagging". I was referred to this article, by a new friend (shout out to @guiltyparties) and while most of it is common sense, I'm not too sure I agree with his advice/suggestions (did I mention I'm new here, so I might be wrong :p).

P.S. What's your opinion on using "in-post" #tags. You used them a lot in this article, because it makes sense to do so... but I'm referring specifically to #tags that the community doesn't (yet) use.

For example... I use #HeeltydSpeeltyd, which is Afrikaans for (loosely translated) "Always PlayTime" a lot on all my other social media channels, and it's become my catchphrase. Would it be annoying if I signed off every post using the #tag inside the post itself?

My objective is to, once I have enough posts, allow new/random people discovering an old post, to have a quick and easy way to discover the rest of my posts.

P.S. Apologies for the long comment... I do hope I hear back from you.

Sort:  

Sorry man, still the same person here. You may use any tag you want inside the text of a post but it does not create an instance of that tag being used on the blockchain. Kind of how the above post listing all those tags does not actually tag that post with all of them.

It links to them, sure, but it doesn't add to their use. Linking your posts together with tags won't work either. Months ago I used to tag my posts as #guiltyparties. Currently, if you click on that tag, you'll see that nothing is tagged there. That's because after a while, older posts cease to be pulled up. The query to pull them is too challenging/lengthy to execute so Steemit or any other service/site has a cut off.

The best way to ensure your content can easily be found by your followers is to keep your profile clean. That means not resteeming other people's content unless absolutely necessary.

Awesome explanation... Thanks!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29