You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: UI Proposal: Change "Upvote" to "Upsteem"

in #steemcity7 years ago

Disagree. One person who arrives for the first time to Steemit doesn't need any explanation about what "upvote" is.

"Upsteem" could be understood as "if I click here then STEEM price will go up", which is not the case.

Sort:  

"Don't put your baby in a microwave."
I'm against adjusting everything to the weakest part in the chain. So, a bit of thought should be expected from every user. And I think upsteem is quite self-explaining indeed. Users deal with STEEM here, so if you want to give some credits to the author naturally you would up the steem.

I also disagree about this potential (mis)understanding. The action is in the context of the article, not of the market. So it's pretty clear that when you click that button labelled "Upsteem", the steem associated with that post will go up.

I have to agree with javirid here. Steem/Steemit has such a huge learning curve already - there's not much here that's simple pick up and play and there are a large number of things that can be improved (don't get me wrong - I think this is fantastic!) for easier onboarding.

People understand "upvote" from the outset - I see the value of what you're saying from a branding perspective but when I put my 'new user' hat on, it's another thing I'd need to learn and another "Steem"-related term added into the headspace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64