Cryptonoia - The Mild Anxiety Generated By Excessive Involvement With Cryptocurrencies

in #steemcity7 years ago (edited)

As life evolves, so does language. New words are invented to define and express new types of activities, most of them unconceivable and unexplainable 10 or 20 years ago.

For instance, this morning, when I was checking the stats of my (small, but astute, hopefully) crypto holdings, I realized I'm in a specific state of mind. It wasn't fatigue (I was literally waking up), it wasn't sadness (no specific reason for that) and it wasn't tension either.

But it was a combination of all of these. A small anxiety, combined with a little bit of weariness and a small, but perceivable tension. Anxiety, specifically, was present in its both forms: positive anxiety (looking forward to see how my good holdings performed) and negative anxiety (fearing a depreciation of my bad holdings).

So here I am, coining this term: cryptonoia. Which comes from a combination of "crypto" (colloquially used for cryptocurrency) and noos (greek for mind). And which tries to define the specific state of preoccupation with your cryptocurrency-related activities: checking stats, thinking if it's a good moment to sell or buy, enjoying the profits or grieving over losses.

If you think this is close to paranoia, you're not far. Paranoia literally means "mind led astray" - paras (distraught) and noos (mind).

But it's also close to metanoia, which means "a transformative experience" - meta (beyond) and noos (mind).

So, how often do you have cryptonoia? How does it manifest in your life? It's a Bitcoin induced cryptonoia? Or just a mild, Steem generated one? Or maybe you're having a smart contract induced cryptonoia because of all your Ethereum holdings?


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness heren:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


Posted from steem.city - an experimental service on the Steem blockchain.
Beneficiaries: @dragosroua, @raluca, @steem.city

Sort:  

Great post! Investing in cryptos can definately be overwhelming from time to time when the markets rise rapidly or decline rapidly...but i will see it like a long term holding so in that sence it does not affect me as much but you need the nerves of steel to be in this market and if you are new you probably will sell when you actually should be buhing. I think in the long run we will all be very happy that we joined Steemit and other altcoins even though many of them will not make it in the long run.
So keep calm and remember to have fun also maybe not so easy but here in Sweden it's summer so now me and my gf are heading out exploring a small town outside stockholm
Have a great day all! @dragosroua
image

Outstanding new term, my friend Dragos!

BTW, serving as your proofreader, please check your last paragraph for a couple of errors? ;)

Great post, Thanks! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks, it was a small bug in the steem.city editor.

Your welcome.

You may have missed one item... I believe "manifests" should be "manifest?" ;)

I think in that context it's ok: "how it manifests". But if you still think I'm wrong, can you point out why?

I think you've got it right now... ;)

I am not an English grammarian, but my "grammar ear" is well trained by vast amounts of reading.

The difference here has to do with the word "does," so that as you have said, "how it manifests" would be correct, but "how does it manifest" is correct as you now have it, as would be "how it does manifest."

Thanks :)

You're welcome, and thanks again for a cool new word to roll off my tongue! ;)

It's nice to see that I'm not the only one who points these things out to people! ☺️ It really is an underrated service!

We all have to look out for one another here on Steemit! ;)

I agree 100%! And people do watch out for each other here. What a lovely community. I'm so glad it found me!

nice one!

As long as it isn't cryptophobia...

Nope. Not that one :)

you think too deep
I just run in circles
scream and shout.

wait until the medical profession picks this up after more and more people quit their jobs seeking a liberated life in the crypto-economy...

it will happen :)

they'll call it an epidemic and will try to develop drugs against it :P

I hope I'll be affected then! As long as I get the liberated life you speak of! What then would the doctors be prescribing?!

probably a mix of variations of the already widely prescribed anti-depressants?! The stuff they already give to people who are sick from living their "normal" lives.

I know I am affected... and I'll refuse to see my doctor ;)

Too true my friend. But it's probably nothing a good walk through nature wouldn't fix (until you got back to your screen that is!)

Inventing new words now! But it makes sense, easy to decipher, even without a need of explianation!
Have a wonderful weekend buddy!

I feel like I have the opposite: cryptophoria
A constant state of optimism!

that's a good word too :)

Haha yeah, don't throw your life savings into one project or the mild anxiety will turn into sleepless nights and worse!

We heard it here first. You coined it, hehe. I'm suffering from this and neglecting my job this past week. Not good. However I work for myself so I can do a little shuffling.

Beware, it is highly addictive. I would put aside some solid blocks of time for work (especially if you work for yourself), otherwise the whirlwind can drag you in completely.

Haha 😂 you have aptly described and categorised a new malady! I'm very new to the crypto space but I am definitely exhibiting symptoms of cryptonoia, including mild feelings of self-resentment when Bitcoin keeps surging as I hold out on buying more, followed by mild-feelings of loss when the value of my holdings plummet!

Thank you! It's a little scary but I'm learning so much everyday! I've been staring at a screen so long lately that I think my glasses prescription has changed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82