Owning up and moving into the neighborhood

in #steemchurch7 years ago

Eugene Peterson has always been a personal hero of mine. He has often been criticized by "Bible Scholars" for his life altering work, The Message Bible. When asked about the critics Eugene responded, “I grew up in a culture where everything in the Bible was literal. Then I discovered metaphor. Words don’t always mean what they say…. I had to enter the world of the words in order to understand what was being said,” he explained. “If we understand how language works, it cannot be translated literally. It can be accurate, but it not literal.”
aaron-burden-147840.jpg

Some of the more powerful imagery for me of the Scriptures comes from Eugene's attempt at diving into the world of words. One passage that has rung in my life is John 1:14.

The Word became flesh and blood,
and moved into the neighborhood.
We saw the glory with our own eyes,
the one-of-a-kind glory,
like Father, like Son,
Generous inside and out,
true from start to finish.

I have always been struck by the thought of Jesus moving into "the neighborhood." What does that entail exactly? He was known by others. He was recognized as a part of a family group who had earned a reputation. He had a vocation and participated in the daily life of his city. Relationships were formed and cultivated through all the different roles he had. He forged his own identity apart from his parents.

As a 36 year old husband, parent, and business owner I want to embrace all these situations. Surrounded by a culture that values the hot and now approach it is tough to stay content and not think that moving away from the problems of my small-town rural community will solve my woes. This has been a crucial value I am trying to add to my list of essentials for true life. Circumstances will change and evolve for better or worse. Today, I am choosing to value life as it is and add to the environment I am in. I cannot control the events of the day, but I can change how I view them.

Friends, this is essential for actually thriving in any environment. Someone once told "the grass isn't greener on the other side...it's green where you water it." Today, take care of your environment. Make today better because you are alive. See the location where you are not as an obstacle but an opportunity. Life doesn't suck where you are. Perhaps how you're living may be the problem.

Sort:  

"Life doesn't suck where you are. Perhaps how you're living may be the problem." DANG! So challenging and yet encouraging. 99% of "opportunity" in our life is the opportunity for gratitude and growth. Yet I only look for the 1% and seem to think that Life is somehow in the future. I need reminders to remain present. Thank you.

Welcome to steemit! @theferalone mentioned you in our Discord community and group

Fellow lifelong Michiganian here too!

Looking forward to diving into some of your posts. Thanks for checking me out!

Congratulations @thirdwavepete! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thirdwavepete! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45