A BRIEF PIECE ON INTEGRITY

in #steemchurch6 years ago

It is believed in some part of Nigeria that what an old man will see sitting a small child who is standing will not, even after climbing the longest tree in the forest.

From childhood, integrity have been one of the core values that were instilled in us. We were always reminded before going to bed that there is no food for a lazy man and that sincerity is key in finding favor before people. This formed the basic foundation upon which my mindset is built.


Photo credit

Integrity is the act of being morally sound, sincere to yourself and then to others. It is the basic foundation which should form the mindset of people who’ll eventually become great guys. Let me tell you a short story with an intention of bringing to light what having integrity is.

Just few weeks after I completed my NYSC and have walked helter-sketer around the city in search of employment, a well-known man in the city, who is a friend to my dad offered to help me submit my application in some companies. Upon hearing this all sense of urgency died. I felt there was no need to be troubled simply because this man does business with the big industries in town.

It wasn’t up to a week, I received a call from this friend of my dad. He told me to meet him up in his office (which I did). When I arrived his office, I was expecting to hear “yo! your application was successful and you have been selected for the job” but upon reaching his office he introduced me to his friend and told me to wait outside until they bring their meeting to an end. I was like “okay sir!”, so I went out and sat in the reception until they were done with their meeting.

Shortly, after about thirty minutes, a call came through to the receptionist asking me to hurriedly come to the office. I stood up from where I sat and walked as fast as I could as though I was chased by an African Baboon. I knocked on the door and was asked to step in. Just immediately I stepped into the office I was requested to go in a car to the spare parts market in town.

So, there I stood in awe with what looked like an envelope full of cash which should be around fifty thousand Naira (N50,000) in estimate and I believe he had no idea how much the spare parts costs. I took his car and went straight to the market to the spare part I was requested to make purchase of.


Photo credit

As I was about leaving the area where I could find the spare parts were suggested to me and since I had no other place in mind, I went to the area I was told.

When I arrived the market area, I checked about three different shops and noticed the price was not consistent with each shop I visited with a difference of hundreds. So, I picked the lowest of the price which was just eighteen thousand Naira (N18,000).

Meanwhile, I was given fifty thousand Naira (N50,000) and after making the purchase I was left with about thirty-two thousand Naira (N32,000). It was at this point I fought the greatest battle I have ever fought, seeing that I had to fight against thoughts suggested into my mind.

On my way from the market I started feeling uneasy and noticed, just suddenly, a desire to covet the remaining cash arose within me. I thought about making a lie; claiming the price was more than I got it. I percolated on making it over thirty-five thousand Naira (N35,000). After a while, I thought about making it just twenty-eight thousand Naira (N28,000). After all I was still going to tender a lot of cash.

Meanwhile, I was lacking financial power during that period which made it a tough test. I thought of several urgent things I needed that I would have been able to attend to if I had coveted just as much as some few thousands.

It was at this point I retorted saying;

"The blessing which is of God makes rich and He adds no sorrow with it."

I could not pray about what choice to make because the choice I should make is stirring right at me. So, I firmly took a posture of heart never to make a different price.

I arrived the office after a long contention in my mind and handed over the cash left to my dad’s friend. He asked about how I had gone pricing and buying which I narrated exactly how I had gone to several shops to make sure the price wasn't outrageous.

Just like watching a movie, my dad’s friend and his friends stood to shake my hands. I reached for their hands reluctantly in awe.


Photo credit

In just a moment, my dad’s friend revealed that this was the final test I needed to undergo before appointment and that those men he introduced to me as his friends were not really his friends but were a part of the screening committee. As if that was not enough, these were managers of private companies and were in search of a purchasing officer fitting to handle both big and little 'purchase' in their establishment.

I never knew they had access to the mobile contacts of the vendors who sold the spare part to me until they told me how much I paid in exchange for the car part and what time I made purchase of it. This was because all the shops which sold car parts in that area were owned by just one person who was also a friend of my dad’s friend. It took him just a call to confirm how much I had paid for the spare part I made purchase of.

They looked at themselves and smiled while I stood in great awe. I was perturbed with a question “what if I had inflated the fee spent in buying the spare part?”

I became proud of myself and that was how I got the job.

A friend once told me;

"Sometimes being sincere isn't for the good of others but for your breakthrough".

Friends, honesty pays.

“Every short cut eventually cuts short the journey and dream.”

We must imbibe discipline, honesty, integrity and morals and live these out as a lifestyle if we will make our society a better place to live in.

Here's my advice to young lads out there:


Be careful young lads, do not eat your tomorrow today. Do not destroy your God-given opportunity by playing smart and do not destroy your image and family name on the altar of pressing needs.

For, godliness with contentment is GREAT GAIN.

Pause and think!

Sort:  

Integrity is everything to us here at Steemchurch

Aside christianity, a man got to keep his or her integrity

Nice write up

OS

Hi there

We found your post valuable to the steemchurch community

Thanks for sharing

Resteemed

OS

Well as Christians life offers a test of integrity just like the story you just narrated buddy, it's amazing to really hear this, I'm overwhelmed

This is really a great post. Integrity pays so much because God is the judge of all. Thanks for sharing

What a beautiful story. Thank God you were entire. God rewards our integrity. In many places they know that the Christian must be entire and they prefer to hire a Christian ... but nowadays integrity is being lost even in the people of Christ ... We must remain faithful to God in integrity and our Lord will be the one to reward us .

Wow!This post is lovely. Indeed, integrity is a very integral part of our character.
Thanks for sharing.

Well done @sirpee! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Serbia vs Switzerland
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard Corld Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sirpee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Well done @sirpee! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Brazil vs Costa Rica
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard Corld Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43