Under the Rug – Psalm 139:23steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemchurch6 years ago

image.png

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.

Very few people like to focus on their mistakes. Yet, here we see a verse that shows we should want our flaws pointed out. Now, I don’t know about you, but every time I think of my flaws, I just get down on myself. But what can happen if we don’t focus on our flaws? That only opens the door for us to walk in pride and arrogance.

When we are hit with the reality of our flaws, our pride is thrown to the ground and trampled on. We are nothing. This is why we need to pray this verse everyday.

If we don’t focus on our flaws to repent, we are no different than someone sweeping dirt under a rug then claiming the floor is clean. While everyone wants to look good, there’s no hiding it with YHWH. He knows what we really look like.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.

Don’t sweep under the rug.

Let this be a focus in your time of meditation throughout the day. Until next time, shalom!


SOURCE: Steve Moutria at TorahFamily.org (Posted with permission)
http://torahfamily.org/under-rug-psalm/

IMAGE SOURCE

Sort:  

Isn’t it funny how if you don’t get the whole context of a verse, the meaning could easily be understood in a different way. I had to look up the context of this one, because the “test me” threw me off. But after reading verse 24, it made sense.

It’s a dangerous thing, to think we are good with God and to have it turn out He knows our true heart is not humbled.

yes context is key

Those two verses fit for the Day of Atonement!

howdy sir simms50! yes sir we MUST look at our flaws and constantly assess and judge ourselves I believe. great lesson sir!

EVERYDAY!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81