Humble Yourself – Luke 18:14

in #steemchurch6 years ago

image.png

I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.

I would encourage you to read all of the context here when you get a chance. But my question to you right now is this “Do you exalt yourself?” I know this may sound like a silly question, but I truly believe it’s a legitimate question. Do you exalt yourself?

Do you look for recognition from others? Do you do things for recognition from others? Anytime we bring the “good works” that we have done to the attention of others, we are exalting ourselves. No one needs to know what we have done. As long as YHWH knows, does it really matter who else knows?

How important is this? Important enough that we find Yeshua said these exact same words four chapters before.

Luke 14:11 - For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.

He said it twice. I’d say it’s important.

Let this be a focus in your time of meditation throughout the day. Until next time, shalom!


SOURCE: Steve Moutria at TorahFamily.org (Posted with permission)
http://torahfamily.org/humble-yourself-luke/

IMAGE SOURCE

Sort:  

An issue so many have today, when I point out what is sin, and call people to repentance, I am called boastful. Believe me, I know where I have come from, and glory only goes to Him for the change in my life. The church has twisted up scripture so bad that, even when quoting scripture, people call you prideful when they feel guilty.

Yeah I ran into something similar too when using scripture. We can say every time..SEE it is not my words...but that still doesn't help! We must speak the truth in love then let the Holy Spirit do the work from there!

yes sir, it's all about planting seeds.

Exactly and then letting the Holy Spirit grow them!

howdy sir simms50! I guess I got this post and the last mixed up but I don't know how much difference there is between humbleness and humility.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94