SELF CONTROL

in #steemchurch6 years ago


TEXT:‘The grace of God…teaches us to say “No.”’ Titus 2:11-12 NIVWe all must learn Talk back to our feelings- David did this alot when he was afraid, discouraged or feeling like there is no way out, your feelings are children that can only be trained by YOU. We put far too much emphasis on our feelings. We think everything that is right has to feel good or it’s not worthwhile. We say things like, ‘I don’t feel like studying…I don’t feel like working…I don’t feel like reading my Bible...I don't feel like coming to church anymore...I do not feel like talking to someone.’ Or, ‘Ifeel like having another drink…I feel like having sex always.’ Don’t give your feelings so much authority. Feelings are highly unreliable; if you allow them, they will control and manipulate you and finally ruin your life. God doesn’t want you to be controlled by your feelings. He wants you to master your moods. Having Jesus Christ as the Master of your life, you can master your feelings. Talk back to them so theyknow how to FEEL. God says He wants you to learn how to challenge your emotions. ‘The grace of God…teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives’ (vv. 11-12). God’s grace gives you the power to do what’s right and say NO- A lot of people do not know how to say NO to friends, family,spouses etc.
Grace gives you the ability to say NO to that feeling, to that desire, to that emotional impulse.Are you battling an addiction problem? Before you ever engage in the habit, you have already begun to talk to yourself about it or imagine it or even replay the fantasies about it. If you are serious, you will have to challenge some of those subconscious attitudes about that addiction. When you hear your mind saying, ‘I just have to do this or I’ll die,’ you have to say, ‘No, I’m not going to die. In fact, I will behealthier if I don’t do this.’Bottom line: Fill your Feelings By Talking God's word to them till they are full and you will begin to FEEL GOD more than you feel anything contrary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55