The angel of jehova and the ass of Balaam. (Let us not be as stubborn as Balaam to hear the voice of God.

in #steemchurch5 years ago

Numbers 22:21-40 Reina-Valera 1960 (RVR1960)
The angel and the donkey of Balaam
21 So Balaam arose in the morning, and saddled his ass, and went with the princes of Moab.
22 And the wrath of God was kindled because he was going; and the angel of the LORD stood in the way for his adversary. And he rode upon his ass, and with him two of his servants.
23 And the ass saw the angel of the LORD, who was in the way with his bare sword in his hand: and the ass departed from the way, and went in the field. And Balaam scourged the ass, to bring her back to the way.
24 But the angel of the LORD stood in a path of vineyards, which had a wall on one side, and a wall on the other.
25 And when the ass saw the angel of the LORD, he glued himself to the wall, and pressed Balaam's foot against the wall; and he scourged it again.
26 And the angel of the LORD passed over, and stood in a narrow place where there was no way to turn neither to the right nor to the left.
27 And when the ass saw the angel of the LORD, he fell under Balaam: and Balaam was wroth, and scourged the ass with a stick.
28 And the LORD opened the mouth of the ass, and she said unto Balaam, What have I done unto thee, that thou hast scourged me these three times?
29 And Balaam said unto the ass, Because thou hast mocked me. If only I had a sword in my hand, for now I would kill you!
30 And the ass said to Balaam, Am I not your ass? Thou hast ridden upon me from the time that thou hast held me unto this day; have I been accustomed to do so with thee? And he said, No.
31 Then the LORD opened the eyes of Balaam, and saw the angel of the LORD standing in the way, and having his sword naked in his hand. And Balaam bowed his head, and bowed himself upon his face.
32 And the angel of the LORD said unto him, Why hast thou scourged thy ass these three times? Behold, I am gone out to resist thee: for thy way is perverse before me.
33 And the ass saw me, and departed from before me these three times: and if he had not departed from me, I also would now slay thee, and leave her alive.
34 And Balaam said unto the angel of the LORD, I have sinned, because I knew not that thou stoodest before me in the way: but now, if it seem evil unto thee, I will return.
35 And the angel of the LORD said unto Balaam, Go with these men: but the word that I shall say unto thee, that shalt thou speak. So Balaam went with the princes of Balak.


Source

Balaam was commissioned for a mission he rose early in the morning and rode on his donkey, to visit the princes of Moad. But when they were on the road the Angel of jehova appeared to Balaam but he couldn't see him but the donkey did and he was afraid of jehova when he saw the angel, the donkey moved away from the road as the angel wanted but Balaam scolded him that there was not where he had to go, but the donkey understood what the angel was saying the donkey for being obedient to God and not to man he beat and scolded him until God allowed the donkey to speak so the man understood and could see the angel of God who wanted to take care of him because his path was perverse.


Source

Many men are like that, God tries to free us from many things but we have our eyes thoughts and heart so serrated that we do not let the love and protection of God into our lives and that is why we earn the diseases and deaths among other things. Let's not be stubbornly deaf and blind like this man Balaam that God wanted to use but his arrogance did not let him hear the voice of God, the donkey was more obedient and fearful of God than Balaam himself.

The word says in proverbs that God will not use a proud, hardhearted person, but God will always be using other people for us to change and learn to listen to God's voice. it is our decisions to allow the advice of others for our good. just as God did with the donkey to save Balaam's life so use people to get close to him and know that in him is our trust and all that we may need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55817.20
ETH 2966.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17