Great and Dreadful God (Bible Study on the Many Names and Titles of the same God)

Dan 9:4 And I prayed unto the LORD my God, and made my confession, and said, O Lord, the great and dreadful God, keeping the covenant and mercy to them that love him, and to them that keep his commandments;

We tend to want to look at the attributes or Nature of God Only as the God of Love. I like the Psalm that says God is to be feared because He forgives sin.

Psa 130:3 If thou, LORD, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand?
Psa 130:4 But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared.
Psa 130:5 I wait for the LORD, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope.

D72867EB-2385-40C1-BA85-73BD3DA6D63F.jpeg
I took this photo yesterday with my Huawei Nova 2i in the Philippines

Strongs Concordance

Lord

H136 (Strong)
אֲדֹנָי
'ădônây
ad-o-noy'
An emphatic form of H113; the Lord (used as a proper name of God only): - (my) Lord.
Total KJV occurrences: 438

Great

H1419 (Strong)
גָּדֹל גָּדוֹל
gâdôl gâdôl
gaw-dole', gaw-dole'
From H1431; great (in any sense); hence older; also insolent: - + aloud, elder (-est), + exceeding (-ly), + far, (man of) great (man, matter, thing, -er, -ness), high, long, loud, mighty, more, much, noble, proud thing, X sore, (´) very.
Total KJV occurrences: 528

Dreadful

H3372 (Strong)
יָרֵא
yârê'
yaw-ray'
A primitive root; to fear; morally to revere; causatively to frighten: - affright, be (make) afraid, dread (-ful), (put in) fear (-ful, -fully, -ing). (be had in) reverence (-end), X see, terrible (act, -ness, thing).
Total KJV occurrences: 334

God

H410 (Strong)
אֵל
'êl
ale
Shortened from H352; strength; as adjective mighty; especially the Almighty (but used also of any deity): - God (god), X goodly, X great, idol, might (-y one), power, strong. Compare names in “-el.”
Total KJV occurrences: 242

Daniel’s Prayer

There are only a handful of people that the Bible lists nothing negative about them. Daniel is one that throughout his entire life shows dedication, purity and integrity. This the of prayer Daniel is praying you almost never see people practice. He is praying for a nation, but even with his exemplary behavior and character, he says our sins.

Dan 9:5 We have sinned, and have committed iniquity, and have done wickedly, and have rebelled, even by departing from thy precepts and from thy judgments:
Dan 9:6 Neither have we hearkened unto thy servants the prophets, which spake in thy name to our kings, our princes, and our fathers, and to all the people of the land.

God is the only One that can forgive sin. This forgiveness comes only on His terms. For this reason He should be feared. Because He is Great and Dreadful.

Dan 9:8 O Lord, to us belongeth confusion of face, to our kings, to our princes, and to our fathers, because we have sinned against thee.
Dan 9:9 To the Lord our God belong mercies and forgivenesses, though we have rebelled against him;

While He was praying Gabriel came to Daniel

Dan 9:20 And whiles I was speaking, and praying, and confessing my sin and the sin of my people Israel, and presenting my supplication before the LORD my God for the holy mountain of my God;
Dan 9:21 Yea, whiles I was speaking in prayer, even the man Gabriel, whom I had seen in the vision at the beginning, being caused to fly swiftly, touched me about the time of the evening oblation.
Dan 9:22 And he informed me, and talked with me, and said, O Daniel, I am now come forth to give thee skill and understanding.

My thoughts
This reverence for God is what set Daniel apart from the others. This “Fear of the Lord” was the secret to his success. Knowing God is “Great and Dreadful” and Merciful to this who keep His Commands”.

Thank you for stopping by and joining me in my cyber living room to study the Bible

God bless!
Daddy William
B15CE891-B6A9-4F67-AEC1-CBD95C3D6E14.jpeg
All proceeds from this account will be used to benefit the people of the Philippines and Eastern Asian Countries

Sort:  

Good morning William

Good morning! Having internet problems here.

lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97