Consequences of Disobedience and Partial Obedience.

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)


Src

Disobedience implies noncompliance with the demands and requests of the one in authority. It is an act or instance of non-submitting to an authority.


For the purpose of this post, the focus will be on non-submitting to the authority of God.

Disobedience to God is a great sin that was stressed in both the old and new testaments.

There are numerous blessings attached to obedience and in the same way, there are numerous dangers and consequences of disobedience and partial obedience.

But if ye will not hearken unto me, and will not do all these commandments;
And if ye shall despise my statutes, or if your soul abhors my judgments, so that ye will not do all my commandments, but that ye break my covenant:
I also will do this unto you; I will even appoint over you terror, consumption, and the burning ague, that shall consume the eyes, and cause sorrow of heart: and ye shall sow your seed in vain, for your enemies shall eat it.
And I will set my face against you, and ye shall be slain before your enemies: they that hate you shall reign over you, and ye shall flee when none pursueth you.
Leviticus 26:14-17

God frowned at the following types of disobedience which are:


Those who will not hearken to God’s voice

But if ye will not hearken unto me, and will not do all these commandments;

Leviticus 26:14

Those who despise His status

And if ye shall despise my statutes, or if your soul abhor my judgments, so that ye will not do all my commandments, but that ye break my covenant:
Leviticus 26:15

Those that rebelled (do contrary) against Him.

And if ye walk contrary unto me, and will not hearken unto me; I will bring seven times more plagues upon you according to your sins.
Leviticus 26:21

Those that refuse to be reformed

And if ye will not be reformed by me by these things, but will walk contrary unto me;
Leviticus 26:23



Disobedience is a sin.

  • Disobedience is sinful because it is the fruit of doubt and unbelief.

But without faith, it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.
Hebrew 11:6

  • Human beings became sinners as a result of the sin of disobedience.

For as by one man's disobedience many were made sinners, so by the obedience of one shall many be made righteous.
Romans 5:19

  • Refusal to pay tithes as commanded (10% of earnings) is an example of disobedience which God will punish if not repent.

Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.
Malachi 3:10

  • God does not tolerate disobedience. He punishes it particularly when the offenders fail to repent
  • Half obedience is as bad as full/total disobedience. It carries an equal penalty.
  • Half obedience is compared to being lukewarm (neither hot nor cold) which God hates.


Consequences of Disobedience and partial obedience.

  • Disobedience and partial obedience attract curses. Deuteronomy 11:28, Daniel 9:16
  • Disobedience will invoke God’s judgment and wrath. Ephesians 5;6
  • Vengeance is awaiting disobedience children. 2 Thessalonians 1:8
  • Disobedience to God is fighting God, and those that fight against God are bound to lose. 1 Samuel 12:15
  • Disobedience might lead to death
To be on a safer side is to avoid the falling mountain of His judgment upon the perpetrators of disobedience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75