BE STILL

in #steemchurch6 years ago

Psalms 46:10 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.



source


There is this story of a man and his sister who were crossing a treacherous stretch of river just below the mighty Nigerian falls. The current was rough and tossed the vessel and the woman became terrified and scared. This man took his sister firmly by the hand and turning to one of the two boatsmen asked, 'How often have you crossed here before?' Everyday for the past 12 years', they replied. The man asked again, 'Did you over capsize?' Not once, Sir', the paddler answered. It was then the man turn to his sister and said, 'Unless you think you can row better than he does, just be still and trust him as I do.'


In our text today, God reminds us of His presence. He is our refuge and strength even our ever present help in times of troubles and needs. These words are of great comfort and peace to the troubled and perplexed people. God cares for us and HE will always help us to solve our problems.


Romans 5:1 tells that 'Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ:'


So, let nothing take away our peace of mind. Let's not give room to worriness and anxiety - the enemy of peace!


Each time I travel and we run into a bad weather, God always reminds me that He is always with me and He never sleeps nor slumber. Each time I face one challenge or the other, God always shows up for me and He has never left me stranded and will never. To you too, God can be there for you only if you will let Him.


All you need do is cast all your cares on Him and He will take care of you. Days back, I was talking to a sister and telling her about Christ and she was like, 'I am not ready, when I get married and I'm 50 years I will accept Him.' I was like, 'what is holding you back?' and she said, 'who will take care of me?


Why worry about tomorrow when you serve and know a God that knows tomorrow. - Ndianabasi Tom (2019)


God can take care of you, He can provide for you so just keep calm and be still. Irrespective of the situation, just put your trust in God and He will definitely show up for you!

Here is what the Bible says....


Psalms 46:1-10
God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah. There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High. God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early. The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved: he uttered his voice, the earth melted. The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah. Come, behold the works of the LORD, what desolations he hath made in the earth. He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire. Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

What a great assurance!!


Be still and know
that He is God
Always the same
Now and tomorrow

God is our rock
God is our shield
God is our strength
and refuge

I will not faint
I will not fear
for He is always with me



Thanks for reading!!!!

liltom prayer guide.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @liltom002! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @liltom002! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76