You should not fail in the part you play in the body

in #steemchurch6 years ago

12:4 For as we have many members in one body, and all members have not the same office:12:5 So we, being many, are one body in Christ, and every one members one of another.

Romans 12:4-5

image
source

The word of God describes the Church of Christ on earth here as a universal church meaning not a single denomination but one Church and it further describes it as a body with the members forming the parts. Each member has a part and is a part of that body. Just as our physical bodies need all its parts functioning well to function optimally, a lapse or break down in one part affects the whole body and that is why every believer playing a part in the body of Christ should not fail in performing their role with their utmost best. We are members in that body and each part happens to have a unique function. For instance you might be a Choirister and maybe you think there are other Choiristers but the truth is we are all unique and bring something extra to that body in many ways. No two people functioning in thesame office are thesame and so cannot function in thesame manner. That will only imply God made a mistake and created two people who offer thesame with no difference which is impossible.

You were created to play a role only you can play and failure to do it well means you are failing God and yourself.

The moment you have this mindset and thinking, personalizing your role in the body, seeing it like only you can do it, then you will do better and give it your best. You begin to fail in yoir role the moment you begin to think or feel that someone else can do it and so you became lax and lazy in performing your role in the body of Christ. We have all been given different spiritual gifts, individual talents and traits that we are supposed to use to edify the body and when we fail to do this, we starve the body of Christ of something it needs which is very dangerous for you and the entire body.

What was my motivation in writing this post in the first place?

image
source

Initially, i was feeling reluctant to share this personal experience here but then i read something on a Christian post to share with the Christian family as it will benefit and also help others and since this was a practical experience at my end, I thought to myself to share it so that others do not make that mistake.

It happened that last week Sunday, I returned home very tired and exhausted. I am a Choirister and part of the Worship/Praise band team. So returning home i was headed to bed for a quick nap but just as i was about to i had this great inspirations of worship songs that came flooding my head. This normally happens and when it does, i usually write them down then work on them too so that i can then minister them. I heard an inner thought that said to me that I will use them to lead the worship session but i wiped the thought off my head and told myself another sister will lead worship that coming Sunday not me so let me rest and when i wake up, I can work on them. I went to bed and when i woke up, it was all gone. I could not remember a thing and i ignored it and forgot about it. Through out the week, I ignored my singing sessions which was unusual and Sunday finally came. I went to Church and was well seated in the back seat of the Choir section when my pastor walked up to me and told me the Sister who was supposed to lead our worship session was not too well so i will handle it. It sounded okay to me and i agreed. It was worship te and i walked up to the mic confidently to start but did not understand what was happening. I could barely start and in a moment i felt like i was on my own, i felt empty and lonely.

Worship sessions are the best times foe me during any service but this one i was praying it should end. I was singing but felt nothing, i swapped through my favorite worship songs just to get that connection but got nothing. I was frustrated and could barely handle to continue the worship session. It was a relief for me when it finally ended and i cpuld not help but feel so guilty that i had fail God and his body in that service. They people came prepared to worship and I ended up not giving them what the Lord wanted to deliver to them through me.

image
source

After the service, I sat back and could only reflect and see how everything fell into place. God wanted to prepare me to lead his people in Worship because he knew that Sister will not be able and he made a provision through me at that time but i was too naive to see that, I wanted to work with him at my own convenience and he ended up leaving me to my own will.
So that's just an example from me on why you should not fail in the part you play in the body. To they whom much is given, more is required. We need to sacrifice at times to ensure our optimum functionality in his body and submitting at all times to his will and not our own.

There are consequences when you fail to perform your role in that body. From my story and experience above, you can pick a few already. So not to make it lengthier i will just state a few.

  1. You fail God
  2. You fail the entire body of Christ
  3. You fail yourself and office
  4. God departs from you and leaves you to your will
  5. Feelings of frustration and emptiness
  6. Your Service is rejected
  7. The guilt of failing God etc

So these are but just a few of some of the consequences or effects of failing in performing your role in the body of Christ. We are but Children and most often we make silly mistakes just like the prodigal son but when we realize our mistakes and come back to our Father with a repentant heart, his merciful hands are always open to receive us with a warm embrace. I was chastised and i learned a great lesson from my experience i don't wish to ever do it again by God's grace. In all of this, i receive comfort in the word that says:

12:6 For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.12:7 If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not?12:8 But if ye be without chastisement, whereof all are partakers, then are ye bastards, and not sons.

Hebrews 12:6-8

So i am happy because God chasteneth those he love and are his sons, for if i do evil and he chastiseth me not then i am a bastard and not a partaker of his duvine love.

So my dear Christian brothers/Sisters, my message for you today is:** You are a member of the body of Christ and God has given you the honour to play a specific role which only you can play in his body. Don't fail at it for we do so much just to satisfy our earthly bosses. What more of our Father and God?
Will you fail him?

Sort:  

I am always full of JOY UNSPEAKABLE whenever I read @hermannsol. This content is yet another testimony ; especially as it explains the concept of the UNIFORMITY of the ONE BODY OF CHRIST which even some " POPES" in Christiandom has either bastardised or ill conceived.

Happy to hear that @alaisguineasis..
All glory to God bro and thanks for stopping by.

Beautifully written my brother. I have had similar experiences myself. There are not many things that can compare to that horrible feeling, of knowing that you failed him, but he never fails you.
I have been blessed and helped by your story. Sometimes he even uses our failures to bless others.

Here is an old post I did of a worship song I wrote. It's not spectacular, but you can use it if you like. It has never been sung outside of my church as far as I know.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@coinsandchains/5i6apqyl

Thanks so uch for dropping this wonderful comment and i am glad to hear that it was helpful.

It really was, it's a way to let others know that they are not alone in their shortcomings. Quite frankly there are times I'm leading worship and the spirit is just not there, it always kills me when it happens, and it's always my fault....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81