Spiritual Warfare - Is it Real?

in #steemchurch7 years ago

I know some people don't believe spiritual warfare is a real thing. I myself doubt it sometimes, and can logically explain away what happened to us that day. The fact that no one was hurt or killed that day, however, is somewhat a miracle in and of itself.


SOURCE

Volunteering at Camp His Way

Between the ages of 13 - 15 I would spend my summer's volunteering at a Christian Kid's camp. At the camp every Thursday we would go on we called a lake excursion with the kids. The girls would canoe down in the morning and the boys would ride bicycles to a point a half mile away. We'd stop and eat lunch and then head back in the afternoon with the boys canoeing and the girls riding bikes. Before heading off we'd always check the weather just to be safe and this day was a bright sunny day with a 0% chance of rain.


SOURCE

Being on the lake and with high humidity, during the summers it wasn't uncommon to get the occasional pop-up storm in the afternoon, but this was a little different. This stormed formed right over the top of our heads in the matter of 3 - 5 minutes and wasn't just a small storm, but one of the scariest electrical storms I've ever been in. By the time we saw the clouds and decided to beach the canoes to try and head back to camp there was already lightning and thunder all around us. The scariest part was we were still in the water and some of the canoes were made from aluminum. Making it ashore wasn't much safer as the lake is in the middle of Angelina State Forest so we had trees all around us.

Heading Back

To make matters worse the trail we were taking back to camp was one we took kids out in on the deuce and a half. The holes the deuce and a half left behind were at least 1 - 2' deep (at least the kids still had their life jackets on as I think we might have lost a few in these holes) and would see kids disappear and reappear as they made their way through. What felt like an eternity later (probably only a few minutes) some vehicles finally made it out to where we were. We loaded the kids up and headed back to camp.


SOURCE

What was really weird about the whole situation is that the last big lightning strike and thunderclap happened right as we turned into the campgrounds. The rest of the storm seemed to taper off as we were in the campgrounds and turned into a light rain. It wasn't just the weather, but as soon as we stepped on the campsite it was like a peace fell over everyone that was impossible to explain (there is probably some logical explanation with the pressure drop or raise due to the storm, but who knows).

My Thoughts

Going back to look at the radar this storm pretty much formed right over our heads in a half mile radius than dissipated about 10 minutes later. Was this spiritual warfare in that Satan/demons were trying to hurt someone and angels were watching over us? I'd like to believe so. With the number of kids out on in the woods and the number of bolts of lightning hitting all around us I'd like to think someone was watching over our safety, but maybe it was all dumb luck.


SOURCE

After that event, I just feel lucky that I'm alive. Just as I feel it's lucky that the @steemchurch was created at a time where I think my faith has been doubted the most recently. With my brothers and now sisters building me up with amazing content and sharing God's word I don't feel I'm that lucky. I believe someone up above is watching over me and appreciate all that God does for me even when I deserve it the least.

Sort:  

Like they say, if you don't like the weather here in Texas just wait ten minutes, it will change. Those pop up storms can be nasty and mean for sure, and literally in a few minutes it be a perfect day again, just a little more humid.
Not even going to venture a guess on who or what controls the weather, but I do believe their are "entities" that are at work around us at levels we don't perceive in our normal daily routines.

They can be very nasty and appreciate you sharing your thoughts!

Spiritual warfare is definitely real. Just as we dont see the wind but recognize its effects. So the spirit realm cant be perceived by the physical eyes but has influence on the natural

Man that's crazy. I can't say I'm the strongest in my faith at the moment as I was when I was younger, but I still hold a belief in God. It's always awesome to hear when someone makes it through a tough situation because it can really help fortify someone's faith in some cases. May not always be a faith specifically in God, but having faith can help out a lot. I tend to veer more toward logic side of things when it comes to the situations that are borderline miraculous but I won't deny that you can sometimes feel the presence of something greater.

great post.

Thanks man! The older I get I tend to lean more toward the logical side as well, but maybe it's just because I've become more cynical.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59