Daily Prayer #5 - On a grey commute morning...

in #steemchurch7 years ago (edited)

traffic-jam-1447333.jpg

Image Credit

So here I am God... stuck in traffic again. It's bumper to bumper, taillights as far as I can see. Have I moved in the last minute... seems I'm not really getting anywhere. I can feel my blood boiling... why did that jerk just cut me off... does he think himself so much better than the rest of us??? Who the hell does he think he is??? Why do we do this to each other? Why do I do this to myself... seems like every day all I do is sit and sit and sit... so much wasted life.

Such a waste of life.

You gave me this life. And here I sit just feeling it peel away inch by inch in the creeping car. Breath by breath just kind of curling up inside. These people of yours, you know the one's you've so carefully created and gifted... yeah them. Sometimes they just hack me off. This is not how I want to be... this is not who you've made me to be...

So with the fumes and exhaust as my incense, my prayer goes out to you.

Life is my traffic jam sometimes. I just sit and sit and sit feeling jammed up and locked up immobile... wondering if this road leads to where I'm meant to be... wondering if I'll ever arrive to the places you've called me to be... to be the person you call me to be. I hear you are patient... well that's good 'cause I'm going to need a bit of that patience right now. You see I've set myself as judge and jury over these my fellow sojourners in life. Each one precious... each one with a story and I've declared them wrong and mere obstacles in my way. I just wanted them moved off to the side as objects to be avoided and doubted your reasons for first making them and second placing them here in this space at this time. These are people just like me, trying to care for loved one's near and far, these are your precious beloved... one's you have both died and lived for... and I couldn't see them as such.

At least I didn't at the time.

Help to see them now. Help me to see them as yours and precious. Help me be a servant on this road as you would have me be a servant on every road. When I would veer off... bring me back to your path. When I grow distracted bring my eyes back into focus that I may see as you see... that I may love as you love. Make me an instrument of peace and help me to navigate these twisted roads of life.

Thank you...
... it seems I have a green light.

Amen.

page-break.jpg

If you encounter this prayer and you find that it helps in your walk with God, please be so kind as to share below in the comments... no expectations, just an invitation.

Please feel free to reSteem, or follow me. For those willing to upvote this work, I thank you deeply.

Many are vying for your attention, thank you for allowing me to share these creations with you.

Thanks for stopping by... come again soon.

Peace
~GenXRev

Sort:  

I do like the idea, and practice of praying while travelling in traffic...it emphasizes the nearness of our God, as near as the next breath.

That's what I was hoping I could capture and encourage. Thanks so much!
Eric

These are words that can only be a product of genuine encounter with God. The genuine expression of the human weakness, the expectation from God and His provisions. I key into this prayer

I’m so glad you found it useful. I’m trying to explore what it means to live in the reality of human frailty and the surity of God... two things that are not always seen to cohabitation well, but in which I find true beauty and truth. Thanks and peace.

You have said it all. This human life is frail and breve but God's life is sure and eternal. The balance is to accept and live God kind of life even as we live in this human life.

kinda where I land - yup :)

That’s beautiful. Love that prayer. Thanks for sharing.
Also, in the future, you might want to include the christian-trail tag.

Bless you bro.

Hello @nextgen622 - thanks for stopping in. On some of my other posts I have included the Christian-tail tag, been exploring various and sundry of tag combos just to see if any particular set works better than others. Thanks for reaffirming that one! Peace

You talk to God the same way I do. It was as if I had written these words. You talk the struggle through and then surrender.

Make me an instrument of peace and help me to navigate these twisted roads of life.

Yes, please. Amen.

Amen indeed! I find that I need to own the struggle first... I don’t know if God does, but I do else it is WAY to easy to pretend that I’m fine. What’s become a joy is that the more I practice vulnerability with God the easier it becomes... God provides the safety that allows me to just be me in his presence... no need to tidy up or declutter first.

You got a 8.22% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @genxrev!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

This post has received a 2.81 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @genxrev.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77